I Registered for a HALF IRONMAN!!!

Yeah. I know. What am I thinking?
This is kind of how it played out: A little while back, after my second reeeaaallly long ride (68 miles!) with the Ironman Wisconsin Training clan, Phil said, “So Corey, when are you doing a ½ Ironman?” This planted the seed with the crew and they all began assuring me that with all of their training that I had been jumping in on since April, combined with my own training for Assault on Cherokee. I could complete the Augusta ½ Ironman on September 25th OF. THIS. YEAR. I have been saying since the beginning of tri season that I would consider a ½ Ironman NEXT YEAR. Afterall, I just completed my first triathlon last August and just got my first “real” bike this past January. But last week (pre-Cherokee) I borrowed a book of Ironman Training plans and started looking at them. (And I might have even put a very detailed schedule into a spreadsheet J) The level 3 – 4 plan calls for 9 workouts a week and when I looked back at my training log, I saw I had already been doing 6-8 workouts every week. And since my little group of tri friends tells me that I don’t need to do 3 swims a week, because of my strong swim background and because it is just plain unnecessary (they are even cutting their full Ironman training down to 2 swims/week), that means I only need 8 workouts a week! This put it in perspective a little and after running it by Brad and getting his support, I started seriously considering it. Translated: I was convinced and had a plan, but was too chicken to actually sign up. Well, today I. DID. IT. So now the $$ is spent and since I am too cheap to back out of something I paid for…it’s on!!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

