1/2 Ironman Training Dominated!

This was Brad’s hardcore training for this week:

Since I actually signed up for the race and created a training program, I guess you could call this the first “real” week of 1/2 Ironman Training. So result = no time for hitting the the snooze button and blowing off morning workouts!

Monday – 2700 m swim
This was the day after Assault on Cherokee and I DID NOT want to get out of bed in the morning. Luckily I had some accountability and was supposed to meet Char to swim at 5:15 a.m.!

Tuesday – 1:37:50 ride/26.55 miles/16.3 mph
I met Phil and Cheryl at the Y to ride out. They were planning 60 miles and I was supposed to go and hour and 20 min, but I didn’t calculate my turnaround spot very carefully and ended up riding alot further. I tricked myself into doing the longer mid-week ride. Sweeeeet!

Wednesday – 40 min interval run/2500 yd. steady state swim
I got up stupid early to get my interval run in before my flight, then did an impromptu swim that afternoon.

Thursday – 50 min run
It was nice and cool and pancake flat in Lafayette!

Friday – 1:31:06 ride w/hill climbs/21.78 miles/14.3 mph
I rode from home which is always tough because there is alot of starting and stopping, the goal was to find the longest hills in the area and dominate them! I tacked on a few extra minutes at the end to make up for being a little short on the other mid week ride.

Saturday – 1:30 run/10.36 miles/8:42 min/mile

Sunday – 4:20 min bike/67 miles/15.3 mph

At one point the thermometer on my Garmin read 105*. It was hot and very hilly, but we survived! Learning a little more about nutrition and how I want to aproach my fueling for race day.

  • Swim = 5540 yds
  • Bike = 115.3 miles
  • Run = 21.4 miles

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

