The Perfect Toast

For the second week in a row, this post is being composed as I fly home from the lovely (in the summertime!) Midwest while seated in FIRST CLASS! Thank you Delta! I can get used to this.

The last day and half of my trip to Grand Rapids was relatively uneventful. I thoroughly enjoyed my day off from all things swim, bike, run yesterday and celebrated with an active recovery day of riding in the car for 8 hours. We drove from Grand Rapids, MI to Sandusky, OH to see a customer, talked for a bit, had lunch, then turned around and drove right back. Wow. Long day! But at least lunch was at Cleats, sitting outside on Lake Eerie!

The good news: with all of that free time in the car, I did a little research on Blogger vs. WordPress and getting my own domain name, etc. The posts from here and here were extremely helpful and last night I successfully transferred Schnoodles of Fun to WordPress and purchased the domain name (for super cheap!!). The few posts and pictures that I had on Blogger transferred quickly and easily, but my pages did not, so I spent my evening with a little Chile’s to-go and my computer recreating everything. I LOVE the new layout…clean and simple and didn’t mind transferring pages. Everything was already written, so it really was just a little cut and paste and picture uploading. I even stayed up (gasp!) until 12:30 on a weeknight getting it all done!

This morning I had an AWESOME 55 min run!!! I headed out from the hotel with no game plan, figuring it would be a boring out-and-back along a sidewalk on a busy road. But somehow, 10 minutes into the run, I ended up on an awesome trail that wound through neighborhoods and by a golf course. It was 65* (downright cold!!) and I felt great! Yesterday was the first day off I have had since before Assault on Cherokee and my legs definitely loved the rest.

Even with a braid, I end up with a rat’s nest in my hair! The picture doesn’t even do it justice. A ridiculous amount of conditioner is required.

Since I slept in (okay so I admit that’s why I stayed up so late…because I knew a wake-up in the 8’s was awaiting me!!) I had to grab breakfast from the hotel immediately after the run because they were just about to pack it up. Nothing sounded good so soon, so I grabbed a bagel and threw it in the toaster. Much to my surprise, I ended up with the PERFECT toast!! This excites me because I never, ever seem to be able to get it juuuuust right, and today, I did. 

Happy flying…gotta go eat some more free Twix!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in training, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

