Done and done!

6 Weeks to go! 

This is the first week that I have really started to feel tired. Especially during the long ride on Saturday and the run Sunday, my legs were dead. Good news is this tells me I am working hard!

Monday – 2800 m swim; 1:20:53 ride w/36 min tempo/23.4 miles/17.4 mph
Char and I went to Master’s Swim at the new YMCA at 5:30 a.m. Our friend Carolyn was teaching and she got us on the “list”. It was awesome! It has been so long since I swam in a team atmosphere like that. I definitely pushed myself much harder than I normally would and even did 4×25’s with no breaths! I haven’t even attempted that since high school! After work I rode over to the hospital and met up with Char for a tempo ride. We did a “flat” (for Greenville) course near work and pushed it pretty hard. Felt great!

My pile for Swim, Work, Bike on Monday

Tuesday – 1:51:37 ride/30 miles/16.0 mph
Met up with Char, Jesse, Jenny and Cheryl for a morning ride. It was fun to do a little group ride on a Tuesday morning! This was Cheryl’s last ride before she ships her bike off for Ironman Canada!

Wednesday – 40 min run w/20 min tempo/4.86 miles/8:15 overall pace   Despite going to bed before dark the night before, I was sleepy and sluggish to start. Surprisingly though, it wasn’t super hard to keep the tempo pace. The paces were 7:44, 7:38 and 7:33 (for the last 0.75).

Thursday – 1:54:37 run/12.42 miles/9:14 pace
4th workout with my dear friend Char this week! Love spending this mid-week time together after traveling the last two weeks. Her and Jesse ran 2:50 (18.5 miles), so hopefully I provided good company to break up the long run! Even though it was slow, after not doing a longer run last week because of the brick, it felt good to get out and get some miles in!

Friday – 2800 m steady state swim
Up and at ’em early again for a swim with Char. I was tired and didn’t want to get out of bed. I even contemplated hitting snooze and trying to do this at lunch, BUT I dragged my tired butt out of bed and ended up having a decent swim.

Saturday – 3:23:29 ride/56.3 miles/16.6 mph (3533ft. of climbing!)
This is the longest ride that I have EVER done alone. It was pretty and not as tough as I thought it would be, but I definitely prefer riding with friends! My legs were tired, but I was pleasantly surprised by the overall pace, especially with all the climbing! Another positive: the second half was much faster than the first!

Sunday – 58:18 run/6.24 miles/9:21 pace
The first 2.24 were with Walter with a slow warm-up then a nice solid 8:40 pace. After the first 20ish minutes, I went to meet Heather to help her through her longest run so far! She toughed out 4 miles on a pretty hilly route and didn’t complain once! She is rocking her training for Savannah!

  • Swim: 5600 m
  • Bike: 109.7 miles
  • Run: 23.52 miles
  • Total Time: 11 hrs, 50 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

