Sweatfest & Fun at the Lake!

The weekend started with the longest ride ever to the lake. It is typically about a 4 hour drive, but with Charlotte traffic and a couple of stops to eat and let the mutts out, it turned into a 6 hour drive. Add 1ish hour of picking up dogs, my bike and getting to Mike & Heather’s before we left and I was OVER driving by the time we arrived! It didn’t help that we had 3 people and 3 dogs in one not-so-big car.

I guess I shouldn’t be complaining since Ernie actually did the majority of the driving…

But poor Mike had “Big Head” on his lap for most of the trip.

And Bailey rotated from this:

To this, (once Walter fell asleep and stopped growling at him):

Once we arrived, we talked with my father-in-law, Jim, for a little while, then headed straight to bed. After flying to Charlotte from working in Illinois all week, Brad finally made it to the lake after midnight.

I was up and out on the bike as soon as the sun came up Saturday morning for my long ride. This was the first time using the aero bars I had the bike shop put on last week. I felt pretty comfortable for the most part, but since I climbed over 3500 ft. on the ride, I didn’t spend the majority of the time in aero position. It was a pretty ride, but sorry, I am too chicken to take pictures of scenery while riding. Although I did get this one of my new setup:

I think I could use some practice taking action shots 🙂

Everyone else (including adorable niece and nephew, Maeve and Jackson) spent the morning on the boat while I sweated all over Franklin County, VA. So when I got back, we were ALL ready for a little alot of food! The no-frills-deli down the road, Nobologna, did the trick and soon we were all back out on the lake swimming and boating in the afternoon.

After a relaxing afternoon on the lake, we showered and got ready and took the boat over to the Beach Bash Wine Festival, where we did a few tastings and finally settled on pitchers of yummy Sangria.

We quickly downed 2 pitchers between 5 of us because it was cold and tasted so good! After hanging out for a while, we decided to take a nice slow cruise back to the house to spend the evening playing cards. Between the warm breeze, the beautiful sunset and the effects of the Sangria 🙂 it was an awesome ride back!

We had fun telling stories, drinking beer (<—the guys ) and playing cards for the rest of the night and I squeezed out a big win in the card game before heading to bed. I knew I had another early morning waiting for me!

Sunday morning, once again I dragged myself up bright and early to get in a run before a day of boating. Walter joined me for a quick 2.25 mile run before I headed back to meet Heather. Heather is training for her first 1/2 marathon in Savannah and she rocked her longest run so far – 4 miles! She even chatted away with me the whole time! I have no doubts she will do awesome in the race in November.

Big smiles after a sweat-filled run!

After quick showers and a fun breakfast at a little local diner, we were back out for more wakeboarding and boating before heading back to Greenville around 4 p.m. It was such a fun weekend and I am a little sad, as I just realized this is probably my last lake weekend for the summer 😦 Brad is having a boys-only trip up there in September and I have graciously decided not to crash the party!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in the boys, the lake, training. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

