I ♥ Recovery Weeks!

5 Weeks to go! 

This was a (much needed) recovery week leading up to Tri Tocca on Saturday. My legs were pretty dead after the last few weeks, so the timing couldn’t have been better. I also tried to front load the majority of the workouts at the beginning of the week to allow myself an extra rest day before the race.

Monday – 1600 m swim; 1:18:13 ride/2.37 miles/16.4 mph
I had a really hard time getting up this morning, so I ended up doing the shorter of the two swims that were on the schedule. My arms were dead for the first 800 m (from wakeboarding maybe?!) but eventually they loosened up and I knocked out 4x200m at a great pace. The ride after work was full of drama.

Tuesday – 43:00 run w/18 min tempo/5.16 miles/8:20 overall pace; 1:04:12 ride w/24 min tempo/15.98 miles/14.9 mph
I left home at 5 a.m. to meet Char for a tempo run before it was light enough to ride. As dead as my legs had been, I couldn’t believe how good it felt to run! The tempo went well, with tempo miles at 7:54, 7:48 and 7:48 (0.3 mi). Char had a longer tempo so she finished up while I stretched, then we changed and headed out with Jenny on the bikes. My schedule had this as a tempo on the bike too, but my legs were DEAD and I was riding Char’s bike which is a bit small for me, making me that much more uncomfortable.  So I scrapped it and had a slow, crappy ride.

Wednesday – 1800 m swim                                                                                                    There isn’t too much to say about this swim. I went by myself and knocked it out.

Thursday – 45:13 run/5.16 miles/8:46 pace
The goal for this run was to take it easy and let my body settle in to any pace that felt comfortable. I tried not to push myself on the uphills or to be too concerned about what my watch said. It was a good little sweat session, but without the fatigue that I would normally have after pushing hard through a shorter run.

Friday – 20 min Recovery Ride & REST DAY!
A nice little shake-out ride was exactly what I needed! Got some things worked out on the bike (cadence wasn’t working, aero bars a little low) and got a little sweat in and ready to go for the Saturday’s race!

Saturday – Tri Toccoa

Sunday – OFF!!

Totals:

  • Swim: 4900 m
  • Bike: 62 miles
  • Run: 16 miles
  • Total Time: 8 hrs, 10 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Races, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

