I ♥ Saturdays!

It’s Saturday! Yay! I love Saturdays!

Okay, okay, so I realize that nearly every Monday to Friday working person on Earth loves Saturdays, and I, of course, love Saturdays for all of the same reasons as everyone else, but I also love Saturdays because Saturdays = long runs!

I have spent all of my Saturday mornings for the last several months with my booty on the saddle of my bike, but today was different. Today I ran. Who cares if it was only 8 miles, a far cry from a true “long run”? It was cool and runners were out everywhere and I didn’t have to get up at dark and early to enjoy reasonable temperatures and I felt like a ‘runner’ again. It was fun!

Pink visor and green tank? Okay. Sure that matches. Clearly Ernie wasn’t as stoked about me heading out to run as I was. 

As much as I love swimming and biking and as excited as I am about my upcoming 70.3 TWO WEEKS from tomorrow, I am thrilled that I get to jump head first into marathon training immediately after I (hopefully) rock Augusta on September 25th! In fact, it is so “right after” that the first 13-mile run for Houston Marathon training will be happening during the 1/2 marathon portion of the Half Ironman. How’s that for timing?! I am also beyond excited to run the half marathon at Savannah RnR and see what it is like to race a flat, fast course while I am solid running condition. I will definitely be chasing a big PR!

So back to reality, I still have my last long brick before taper to complete tomorrow morning. I switched the workout to Sunday in favor of having a biking buddy to go with me. Jenny was doing a swim race in Asheville today, but was more than willing to join me  on the bike for somewhere around 40 miles tomorrow, followed by a 6 mile run. Then it’s taper time! Woop!

Off to enjoy things that make everyone else love Saturdays! Including football and this:

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in running, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I ♥ Saturdays!

  1. YUM!! Oh girl, I understand how you feel about Saturday!! GREAT JOB ON YOUR RUN and WE are runners again….you are just a few miles ahead of me:) LOVE YOUR BLOG!

  2. Pingback: Who Needs the Lake?! | Schnoodles of Fun!

  3. Pingback: What Now? It’s Running Season! | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

