Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

Hello from Europe! I am here for a work trip this week that came up a bit last minute. I just booked my flight a week ago and now here I am, on my way to Hamburg, Germany! I lived in Hamburg in 2008 for about 5 months so it will be fun to be back there again!

I left yesterday (Monday) afternoon and it worked out super well that my flight took off a mere 15 minutes before my parents’ flight out of Greenville. They came to visit this weekend and we had an awesome time hanging out and spending time together. I didn’t take any pictures because we didn’t do anything super exciting. We took the doggies to the park, played cards, cooked, walked downtown, ran errands and just hung out and it was an absolutely great weekend just spending time with my family.

Despite being well stocked up with all of the flight necessities:

And enjoying an always great sushi lunch/dinner in the Detroit Airport (seriously, I am telling you, the sushi at DTW is really good)…

The flight was a little rough. Well actually I shouldn’t say the flight was rough, because it was actually nice and relaxing to comfortably to lay across the 3 seats I had to myself. But I am anticipating that the day ahead is going to be rough. I normally sleep very well on trans-Atlantic flights when they leave late in the evening and get to Europe in the afternoon. Unfortunately my flight connected through Detroit and left for Amsterdam at 4 p.m. This means that the 7 hour flight had me arriving at 11 p.m. EST, which is not a time that even I could make myself sleep. I am now blogging from the Amsterdam Airport, where I have a FIVE hour layover before my flight to Hamburg. There was an earlier connection, but I was nervous that an hour layover wouldn’t be enough to get through customs and back through security…turns out it would have been plenty of time.

When I arrive in Hamburg, I will be going straight to our office there and will have some informal meetings and meet-and-greets with my German-based co-workers, then an early dinner before the formal meetings start-up once everyone arrives tomorrow.

I completed my speed workout yesterday before I left, but I am looking forward to doing my other two runs (including a 16-miler) on my old running routes in Hamburg! This is truly where my running journey began, as I was living here when I decided to, then ran, my first 1/2 marathon!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in family, running, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

  1. I LOVED the Help. Such a good, quick read:) Safe travels, Corey!

  2. Ich wünsche Dir viel Spaß in Hamburg.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap: Miles Abroad | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

