16 miles and 16 things

Guten Morgen!

I had a (mostly) AWESOME 16 mile run this morning in Hamburg! I ran on a running path along the Elb River that actually goes right in front of the place I used to live in 2008. I had to go very early to get the miles in before my ride was leaving to go to the office, but it was worth the dark-and-early wake-up call to get it done today instead of waiting for tomorrow. Because tonight, I will be thoroughly enjoying dinner (and drinks) with friends/co-workers at Mama’s, an Italian Restaurant that is known not only for their amazing food, but their fabulous Italian wines! In honor of the 16 miles, I decided to share 16 things from this morning’s run:

16 – This one is obvious…Number of miles that I ran today!

15 – Approximate number of times I was blinded by bright, fluorescent bike lights from bike commuters trying to see their way in the dark on the running path.

14 – Roughly the number of times I thought that despite how good I felt running, that my lower legs and knees felt stiff.

13 x 3 = 39, which is the number of songs that played on my iPhone while I was running today. This is the first time I have listened to music while running in maybe 2 years? Since I was running alone, in the dark, and on a trail with no car traffic, I decided that it was safe to run with music and that I would probably need the boost! I was right – it was a great help!

12 – Approximate number of miles I ran before it was light enough outside to see the pace on my watch. In true Garmin 405 style, my backlight no longer works. Luckily there was a beautiful full moon that at least lit the path in places where there were no lights so I could see.

11:22 p.m. – Time that my Garmin said it was at home when I started my run this morning. (It was 5:22 a.m. in Germany)

10 – Number of fingers that were freezing the entire run since I didn’t bring gloves and it was in the mid to upper 30’s.

9 – Estimated number of glasses of wine I will be able to drink tonight as a result of knocking out 16 miles this morning.

8:27 – Pace of my last mile. Super close to Marathon Pace! Overall pace was 8:55. I am still aiming for all of my long runs to be 9:08 (Marathon Pace + 45 seconds) but since I couldn’t see my pace for the first 12 miles, I was running by feel for the most part and just went with it! I picked it up by 10 seconds/mile the last 3 miles because I felt good enough to do it and I was running short on time (no pun intended).

7 – Number of Germans I was crammed in the elevator with on my way back to my room after the run. I am sure they were completely disgusted by the sweaty American that was stinking up the elevator.

6 – Number of Stingers I consumed while running.

5 – Number of times I cussed out loud because I dropped something (a water bottle, money, Gu) and had to stop and pick it up.

4 – Times that I had to run on cobblestone for about a 100 m stretch. There are 2 spots with old-school, bumpy, crappy cobblestone (hit twice since it was an out-and-back run). The first is where a sidewalk ends by the Fischmarkt and I had to run on the cobblestone road until the nice, new brick sidewalk starts and the other is between some buildings and the river where the concrete slab of a loading dock ends and the concrete that is on either side of an old rail track (for loading from ships back in the day, I assume) hasn’t started yet.

3 – The amount of times that I stopped to go to the bathroom on the run today. (Once was to pee.) I took one Salt Tab before the run today to begin experimenting with them. I am not sure if that upset my stomach or it was the Paprika Crackers I ate before the run. (Gross. I know. But that was the only thing I had to eat in my room!) Or the Chinese food we ate for dinner last night?

3 is also the number of activities I was multi-tasking in the shower while I was getting ready in a hurry this morning after the run: shaving, stretching and rinsing the shampoo out of my hair were all completed simultaneously. Impressed?

2 – Number of GU’s that I sucked down during the run. The first was at mile 5 and the second at mile 10.

1 – Minutes that it took for the chaffing to stop hurting in the shower. Forgot my damn Body Glide.

0.5 – For the very last ½ mile where I discovered that having Fergie run me into the finish of a long run is brilliant!

0 – Number of times that I wished I was still in bed instead of out there running. It was an awesome run and once again reminded me why I love running so much. I mean, seriously, can you beat seeing this on about mile 13 of your run?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Goals, running, training, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 16 miles and 16 things

  1. GM says:

    That view is spectacular !!!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap: Miles Abroad | Schnoodles of Fun!

  3. Pingback: Know When to Fold ‘em |

Tell me what you think!

