Weekly Recap: Miles Abroad

Countdown: 13 Weeks to Houston, 4 weeks to Savannah  

Combining marathon training with business travel is typically never easy, so I was a little anxious about having good quality runs and cross training this week. Fortunately Hamburg is one of my favorite places ever to run and I was able to jump on my old routes. And of course running is an awesome cure for jet lag!

Monday – 7.14 miles; speed work: 5x1K w/400 m rest intervals
I got up early to do this run so I could spend the morning with my parents before we all flew out that afternoon. I was also hoping that waking up early would help me sleep on the overnight flight. It didn’t. But it was still good to knock out the speed work prior to traveling. The repeats were tough, especially the 1st one, when I realized how long 1K actually is! The goal was to keep them all under 4:16 (~6:50 min/mile) and I was successful. One of the things I want to do in this training cycle is increase my mileage, while still using the 3 days/week Run Less, Run Faster program. One of the ways I am doing this is by warming up and cooling down in the higher part of the recommended range. This allowed me to get over 7 miles, instead of the 4.5 from the speed work last week where I warmed up/cooled down on the lower end of the recommended range.

Tuesday – OFF 
After the long trip and working all day on no sleep, I didn’t get a chance to do anything outside of walking through the airports.

Wednesday – 6 miles; 4 mile tempo at 7:50 min/mile                                               Despite being exhausted from jet lag, I got up early to run before my all-day meetings. The cool air and running along the river was awesome. I had a great run and was well under the tempo pace for all 4 of the middle miles. This was definitely much needed considering the next 10 hours after were spent sitting in a conference room, immediately followed by a long dinner.

Thursday – 45 minutes on the stationary bike
My cross-training options were limited to the 3 pieces of equipment in the hotel gym. I chose the recumbent bike over the treadmill and one of those inclined elliptical machines and finished reading a Stephen King book on my Kindle that I have been working on for months. It was good to move my legs and sweat a little, but this definitely was not a tough workout.

Friday – 16 miles; 8:55 min/mile
The sole purpose for doing this on Friday when it would have made much more sense to do it Saturday was my desire to drink wine Friday evening. Luckily I was in bed asleep by 8:45 the night before so it wasn’t bad to get up super early and do this run (mostly in the dark) before work. I will say it again…I LOVE running along the river in Hamburg! I also love how absurdly FLAT it is there :). Makes 16 miles feel so much easier.

Saturday – 30 minutes on the stationary bike
After drinking many glasses of wine (and several shots of grappa) on Friday night, I was pretty hungover and slept until 11 a.m. on Saturday morning. Once I got up, I only had a little bit of time to do anything before having to pack and check-out. I debated an easy 30 minute run, but decided non-impact was the way to go, so I did 30 minutes on the bike in the hotel gym. I usually like to get a tough workout in before sitting on an airplane for the next 12 hours, but that wasn’t happening on Saturday!

Sunday – 44 mile bike ride                                                                                                          After a delayed flight in Atlanta, I didn’t get home until 1 a.m. on Saturday night/Sunday morning. When I finally woke up at 10 a.m., I texted Char to see if she wanted to ride later in the day. My timing was perfect because she was headed out to meet a group in Tigerville to ride in the mountains. My poor bike has been completely neglected since Augusta so I thought this was an awesome way to spend a beautiful Sunday when Brad would be golfing most of the day!  It was a tough ride with a lot of climbing but the company in our group of 7 was great, the leaves are changing in the mountains and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky. We stopped at this amazing bakery half-way and re-fund with yummy scones and apple pie.

Total Miles: 29 miles

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in running, training, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

