Weekly Recap: The Mini Taper

Countdown: 10 Weeks to Houston, Savannah Race Week!

The primary goal for this week was to taper for Saturday’s race! Unfortunately my 20 miler from the week before was completed on Sunday giving me one less day to recover before a PR attempt. So I took it pretty easy this week, hoping to set myself up to do my best.

Monday – 30 min easy bike: I thought it would be helpful to get some blood flowing into the sore legs, so I took it super easy on the recumbent bike at the hotel gym. I felt pretty good after I got warmed up but afterward it didn’t seem to do much to help the overall recovery.

Tuesday – OFF: I stayed out pretty late on Monday and had a semi-early flight back to Greenville, so I went ahead and took Tuesday completely off. Since my quads were still pretty sore going up and down stairs, I don’t think this was a bad move at all. I did do a ton of walking in the airport and Brad and I took the boys to the park and for a walk when I got home.

Wednesday – 3 miles easy, 9:30 min/mile; 1:10 bike ride ~17.5 miles: I DID NOT want to get out of bed and I went back and forth on the thought of working from home and running later in the morning. What sealed the deal was remembering that I told Char & Jenny I would bring my bike to work for a easy ride afterwards. So I dragged my lazy butt out of bed and took Walter with me for an easy 3 miles. I didn’t pay any attention to my pace and just enjoyed running. I still felt a little stiff, but overall things felt okay. I stretched and foam rolled after to try to loosen up all of the hot spots. After work, I met Char and Jenny as planned and we had a great ride. It was fun to chat and be back on the bike again.

Thursday – 3 miles; w/2 miles at HMP (8:00): Once again it was tough to drag myself out of bed! Last week really took its toll on me. I laid in bed and brainstormed how I could get a run in later in the day, but realized that it wasn’t going to happen if I didn’t get up and do it then. No surprise, once I got out there, it felt great and was a good confidence booster for the race! After a good warm-up mile, the next two miles were 8:02 and 7:58. After running super slow Sunday and Wednesday, I was afraid that it would be difficult to pick up the turnover and hit that 8:00 min/mile pace, but it wasn’t at all! Actually the pace didn’t really feel hard in the least bit and while my legs still felt a little heavy, it was a good mental boost going into the weekend.

Friday – OFF: We went to the expo and walked a ton around Savannah. It was good to keep my legs moving without doing anything that would impact my ability to run fast the next day!

Saturday – Savannah 1/2 Marathon!! (+1 mile c/d with Heather)

Sunday – OFF: I wasn’t super sore after the race, but figured it was a good idea to take the day off anyway. We slept in and drove back from Savannah and had a nice relaxing afternoon.

Total Miles: 20.1 miles

Previous Weeks:

Week 1: 17.4 miles (Augusta 1/2 Ironman week!)

Week 2: 15.2 miles (recovery)

Week 3: 26.2 miles

Week 4: 29.1 miles

Week 5: 31.3 miles

Week 6: 32 miles

Week 7: This week!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in running, training, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

