Monday Morning Surprise

…Or Monday morning nightmare may be more accurate.

I decided to sleep in until 7 a.m. and have a nice leisurely start to my week. I stayed up late watching Dexter and was happy to choose an extra hour of sleep over a workout. So you can imagine how confused I was when my alarm started going off at 6:10 a.m. It took me a minute to realize that it wasn’t my alarm, but my phone ringing. Who was calling me this early?! I picked up the phone and saw that it was Alicia, my close friend and neighbor.

She told me that our neighbor across the street, Laura, texted her because she found a bunch of stuff (receipts, cards, sunglasses case) out in the road when she went out for an early morning walk. It was right by Alicia’s car so she thought it was hers. When Alicia went to check it out, she recognized the sunglasses case as mine and called me. It turns out that all of our cars had been “broken into” overnight.

I write it with quotes because all of the cars were unlocked so there was really no breaking involved, just opening doors and stealing stuff. When I came home from my ride with Char and Jesse yesterday, I stopped at the grocery store on the way. I had grocery bags and my riding bag to carry in and Brad went out and brought my bike in. Unfortunately I left my purse in the car and didn’t even realize it. We rarely lock our cars overnight because we feel like we live on a safe street and know all of our neighbors, but typically I NEVER leave anything of value in there anyway.

The thief went through both Alicia’s work and personal cars and mine and Brad’s cars. They dumped out most of what was in the glove compartments and center consoles. After doing some inventory we realized that the only missing items were her iPad and my purse. We called the cops to file a police report and started canceling credit cards. But just before the police came, Alicia checked the dumpster that was set out in front of another neighbors’ house (they are remodeling). And guess what?! My purse was there!! So I recovered nearly EVERYTHING including credit cards, driver’s license and the purse itself (which was a gift from my MIL last Christmas and probably the most valuable thing in the car!) They stole about $60 in cash out of my purse, my work security badge and my Kodak digital camera. While this makes me sad, I was super relieved not to have to replace my driver’s license, all of my cards and everything else in my purse.

Once the initial shock wore off, we were able to see a little humor in the whole situation. After all, no one was hurt and everything that was missing could be replaced. There was a lot of waiting around while police reports were filed, so Brad, Jason, Alicia and I chatted with each other and other neighbors as they headed to work and spent the morning making each other laugh. We even got a few laughs out of the police officers and hopefully made their mornings a little lighter too.

Jason is giving the thumbs up for the Greenville Forensics Team that arrived on scene to dust finger prints. They also fingerprinted each of us so they could distinguish which prints were ours and which could possibly be the thief. I don’t ever remember being fingerprinted before so that was kind of interesting.

Fortunately I had no meetings and my boss was super understanding when I called and told him what was going on. I was able to get everything taken care of and get myself collected before heading into work.

When things like this happens, it definitely makes you question the trust and safety you have at your home and surroundings. No doubt we have taken for granted that nothing bad has happened to us in the past and as a result, we have gotten careless with the security of ourselves and our homes. We love where we live and we still feel like it is a nice and safe area, but we will definitely be taking more precautions with our cars and our homes. This is a lesson learned and we all feel thankful that it was not more catastrophic and of course that no one was hurt.

 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Surprise

  1. wow they finger printed you?! that is serious police work. i’m glad things more or less turned out ok and that you are so lucky to live in a place wher eyou don’t need to lock cars!!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap: Turning the Page | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

