Weekly Recap: Thanksgiving

Countdown: 7 Weeks to Houston

This was a bit of a crazy week since we spent the whole week at Brad’s parents’ house in Illinois. I never doubt that I will get my runs in when I am out of town, but not having access to my pool, gym and bike makes cross-training a bit difficult. Sometimes I am able to squeeze in a workout or class at the local gym in Morton, but the schedule didn’t allow it this time. So while this was one of my biggest mileage weeks ever, there was NO cross-training.

Monday – 6 miles w/4 miles @ 7:50 min/mile: I actually worked out of our office in Peoria on Monday, so I had to get up early to get the run in before an 8 a.m. meeting. It was pretty cold, but the flat, low traffic streets near my In-Law’s house made it relatively easy to knock out the run. Tempo miles were 7:50, 7:43, 7:47 and 7:41.

Tuesday – OFF: Fortunately I had the HBBC challenge to encourage me to do something even though I wasn’t able to get to a gym. I did some quality stretching and foam rolling to prepare for the 20-miler scheduled for Wednesday.

Wednesday – 20 miles @ 8:48 min/mile: Midweek 20 miler? Check! The run went really, really well. Splits can be seen here. The strategy was to do the first 7 miles at 9:00, next 6 at 8:50, the following 5 at 8:40 and the last 2 at marathon pace, if possible. I was spot-on with the paces and the last 2 miles were well below that 8:23 target! This definitely has to be the best 20-miler I have had in any marathon training to-date!

Thursday – 4.7 mile recovery run/Turkey Trot @ 9:40 min/mile: I didn’t plan to run on Thursday, but when Drew and Kate were headed out on an impromptu easy turkey trot, I couldn’t pass up the chance to go with them! I normally do not do shake-out or recovery runs after my long runs, but I wasn’t sore at all so I figured it wouldn’t hurt. I was a little nervous by my general soreness and tight IT Bands that started after the recovery run, but with tons of stretching and foam rolling, they felt better by Saturday.

Friday – OFF: Again, I was encouraged by HBBC and did 20 minutes of stretching and foam rolling, which not only earns me a point, but also helped with the overall tightness from the 2 previous days’ back-to-back runs.  

Saturday – OFF: I set my alarm to get up and do the speedwork before we embarked on our 11 hour drive back to Greenville, but I was tired and it was pouring down rain, so I put it off until Sunday. Looking back, it was probably best to give the tight ITB’s another day to rest anyway.

Sunday – 8.6 miles w/1 mile @ 7:03, 2 miles @ 14:20 and 3×800’s @ 3:23: I procrastinated this run all morning by cleaning house and unpacking and finally headed out the door around 10:30 or so. It was warm (around 60 degrees) and humid, but overcast and boy, did I sweat a TON! I was pleasantly surprised at house fresh my legs felt after 2 days off. This is always a tough workout with 4 miles of speed work being the longest so far and the paces were tough, but I was really pleased with my ability to push through and hit solid times. The mile was 6:56, 2 miles were 14:15 and both the 800’s were right at 3:22 & 3:23.

Total Miles:  39.3 miles

Previous Weeks:

Week 1: 17.4 miles (Augusta 1/2 Ironman week!)

Week 2: 15.2 miles (recovery)

Week 3: 26.2 miles

Week 4: 29.1 miles

Week 5: 31.3 miles

Week 6: 32 miles

Week 7: 20.1 miles (Savannah 1/2 Marathon)

Week 8: 28.8

Week 9: 30.5

Week 10: This week!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in running, training, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Recap: Thanksgiving

  1. wow a mid-week 20 miler… I won’t lie i am totally jealous of your training right now! I hope my body keeps recovering so I can get in more long runs

Tell me what you think!

