Excuses, Excuses…

So, I am about to spend the next 500 or so words whining. I am not normally a whiney person and so far my marathon training posts have been yee-haw I-am-so-great-and-I-feel-so-strong kind of posts, so please forgive my I-had-a-bad-(running)-day-and-want-to-be-a-baby about it rant.

My speed work yesterday kind of sucked. The goal: 20 min warm-up, 1k, 2k, 1k, 1k (w/400m rest intervals), cool down for about a mile. I wouldn’t call it a complete speed work fail, but I definitely am not proud of the effort or the results.

I won’t sit here and give you all of the excuses for what went wrong:

First, I was traveling. Okay, so if you have read previous posts, you will know this is really not a very good excuse. Normally I do pretty well when I am on the road and enjoy the variety that running in a new place provides. Especially if it is somewhere I have been and run before. And it was.

Second, while I wasn’t up late (I was asleep by 10), I drank 2 very large glasses of wine Wednesday night at dinner. I enjoyed every sip of both glasses and all the yummy Italian food that I consumed with them so I do not regret this.

Third, I did not eat anything before running. This is the one common denominator between yesterday’s run and my last crappy speed workout. One would think I would have learned my lesson. All it takes is half of a banana, which was readily available at my hotel’s continental breakfast, but in a rush to get going, I was out the sliding hotel doors without putting any calories in my body.

Fourth, this whole HBBC and eating 7 fruits and veggies a day and all the fiber that comes along with it is having an interesting impact on my running. Let’s just say, good thing there was a nice, clean Mickey D’s along my route.

Fifth, I was writing this post in my head after the first 1k. Its not that I felt crappy or didn’t think I could hit the paces, but after I missed my goal for the first repeat by 2 seconds, I think I felt kind of defeated and just didn’t really care that much. This is super unusual for me and I don’t know where that stubborn, hit-my-paces-or-throw up-trying attitude was, but yesterday morning I just didn’t have it.

The last point is definitely the part I am most disappointed in. I just didn’t mentally have the toughness yesterday to push myself to hit my goals and as a result, the outcome of each repeat was worse as the workout progressed:

  • Warm up: 2.5 miles @ 8:35 min/mile (warm-up progressively got slower, weird)
  • 1k @ 4:18 (6:55 min/mile) – missed goal by 2 seconds
  • 2k @ 8:42 (7:01 min/mile) – missed goal by 4 seconds
  • 1k @ 4:22 (7:02 min/mile) – missed goal by 6 seconds
  • 1k @ 4:24 (7:04 min/mile) – missed goal by 8 seconds
  • Cool down: 0.55 miles (ran out of time since I had to stop twice at McDonald’s)
  • Total: ~7 miles (w/rest intervals)

See a pattern there? And while 2, 4, 6 or even 8 seconds might not seem like a big deal, the point is that I gave up. I didn’t have the mental toughness to push through the workout. And while I realize that I will always, always have bad runs and that doesn’t define my entire marathon training cycle, I am disappointed because pushing through these tough days is also what prepares me to run a marathon.

BUT, I have since enjoyed 2 more glasses of wine with my boss and colleague prior to boarding my flight last night (no, Mom, I do not have a problem…I just really like red wine) and after writing this post, I will hit publish, then forget all about yesterday’s run. I will move on and prepare myself to run 20 miles tomorrow morning and then I will be back to tell you all about how much I love marathon training again.

Deal?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Goals, running, training, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Excuses, Excuses…

  1. Nice work, it might feel like you didn’t have the mental toughness, but you never gave up and you finished the workout!!! I’ve had a hard time getting the points for HBBC that I know I can get 🙂 What training plan are you following and what marathon are you running?

    • Corey says:

      Hi Beth! I am training for Houston Marathon on January 15th. I use the Run Less, Run Faster plan so I don’t get a ton of mileage every week (33-36) but I have used the program before and I feel like it works for me. Have you used a version of it before?

  2. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts 2 | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

