Weekly Recap: Travel & 20 Miles

Countdown: 5 Weeks to Houston

I really don’t want to jinx my training, but I can’t help but be happy with how marathon training is going! Even if I include the ugly 20-miler, I feel like the three 20’s I have done have been the best of the twenty-milers I have had. Ever. This is mostly because I have finished strong on each one and felt like if I had to keep running, say, 6.2 more miles, that I could!

Monday – 30 minutes elliptical alternating every 10 min. w/upper body weights: As I have said over and over in previous weekly recaps, Mondays are usually tough for me to get a workout in. Since I had to take Brad to the airport at 6 a.m., I should have gone straight to the gym. Instead, I went back to sleep with my pups for an hour before I had to get ready for work. The good news? Since Brad was gone, I didn’t rush home after work to hang out with him, so I ended up at the gym for a great weights/cardio combo workout. Thanks to Julie’s post earlier that day, I was inspired to do some upper body weights. I think this workout is definitely a keeper!

Tuesday – 6 miles w/5 miles @ 7:50 min/mile: I ran in a short sleeve shirt & shorts! In December! Yes, it was muggy and a little misty and the warm weather is definitely not going to hang around until the weekend, but it was nice to have one more run in shorts before the cold sets in for good! Despite having 2 days off of running and a light elliptical/upper body workout on Monday, my legs felt pretty heavy. They started that way and stayed that way for most of the run. Despite that, Char and I pushed each other to 5 sweet sub-7:45 miles: 7:43, 7:45, 7:43, 7:44 and 7:42.

Wednesday – OFF: I chose a glorious 2 extra hours of sleep before my flight instead of a workout. We had to take the car to the dealership for a recall, so instead of swimming before meeting Brad to drop off the car as planned, I shut off my alarm and slept in until it was time to go. Then I came back home after and took a nice little nappy before my flight. It was awesome to sleep in and cuddle with Brad and the pups instead of working out!

Thursday – 7 miles speed work

Friday – Swim 2000 m: After arriving home late Thursday night from my trip, I was given the okay by my boss to come in late to work on Friday. With this in mind, Brad and I got up at 8, went to breakfast, then I planned to swim before heading to the office. I realized at 9:15 as I was driving to the pool that even if I went straight to office, arriving at that time was a little obnoxious, despite the okay from the boss-man. So I turned the car around, went home, showered and headed to work. Fortunately, I mustered up the motivation after work to head to the pool and get in 2000 m.

Saturday – 20 miles @ 8:47 min/mile: I originally planned to only do three total 20’s during this training plan, but since I have been feeling pretty good and recovering well, I decided to go ahead and do the one scheduled for this week of the training plan as well, brining the total to 4. But since I was going at this alone, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed at the beginning. I told myself not to count down the miles the whole time, but to just enjoy the fact that I was running and the beautiful morning. It seemed to make the run go by so much faster! I focused on keeping the paces where I wanted them to get to negative splits. There were moments that weren’t that great (mostly going uphill!), but I finished strong, with the last mile below marathon pace.

Sunday – ~1:30 Bike Ride, 24 miles: Wow it was chilly! The temps were in the mid-40’s and it was windy! But totally worth it to get out and get some miles in on the bike this week.

Total Miles:  33 miles

Previous Weeks:

  • Week 1: 17.4 miles (Augusta 1/2 Ironman week!)
  • Week 2: 15.2 miles (recovery)
  • Week 3: 26.2 miles
  • Week 4: 29.1 miles
  • Week 5: 31.3 miles
  • Week 6: 32 miles
  • Week 7: 20.1 miles (Savannah 1/2 Marathon)
  • Week 8: 28.8
  • Week 9: 30.5
  • Week 10: 39.3
  • Week 11: 36
  • Week 12: This week!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in running, training, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Recap: Travel & 20 Miles

  1. Very impressive! I think you are definitely prepared for Houston 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    Wow, 4 20’s and still feeling good– great job! Can’t believe it’s only 5 weeks away… since I’m only doing the half, I haven’t been thinking too much about it. Your posts keep the countdown for me. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

