Adventures in Travel

After a fast-ish 15 miles on Saturday morning (overall average 8:33 min/mile – fastest long run yet!), we piled our little family in the car and hit the road for Texas. The plan was to drive the 11-12 hours to Beaumont, TX on Saturday to meet up with my parents who were there for a wedding. We then planned to spend the night in their RV then drive the final 1.5 hours to my parents’ house just south of Houston on Sunday morning.

The drive was relatively uneventful, except for the 3 hours when I drove and got some good quality pics 🙂

20111219-114318.jpg

I truly despise eating out on the road so we try to find options that are relatively healthy without having to go too far out of the way. We ended up at Taco Bell for lunch where I got a chicken taco salad and at Jimmy Johns for dinner. And we finally made it to Beaumont a little before 9 on Saturday night, making the drive almost exactly 12 hours.

Sunday morning we let the dogs drive the RV for a little while before hitting up the sub-par (but free) continental breakfast at the RV park.

20111219-115003.jpg

20111219-115116.jpg

And my parents’ 12 year-old dauchsun mix showed the boys how she rolls in the RV.
20111219-161729.jpg

Once we made it back to my parents’ house we spent the day washing cars, wrapping presents and relaxing. Last night my Grandparents came by and my Grandma fell in love with our iPad. Her and Brad played Text Twist on it all night!

This brings us to today…Brad woke up at 4:00 this morning extremely sick. He was throwing up all morning and my mom took him to the Urgent Care around 6:30 a.m. I didn’t go because at the time I thought I might be getting sick too. Turns out I was just nauseated from taking care of him. After an IV of fluids, they sent him home but a few hours later he was feeling worse so we went back.

20111219-161244.jpg

Eventually when he wasn’t getting better they decided to admit him to the hospital. So now I am blogging from my iPhone (for the first time!) from the hospital while we wait to see a doctor.

Thank goodness my parents are the best and are keeping me company while Brad tries to get some rest.

All of this craziness has taken precedence over any thoughts of running/cross training but today is the 2nd day I have done absolutely nothing to break a sweat. Tomorrow I will make sure I get my scheduled tempo done before spending the day in the hospital. And meanwhile I am crossing my fingers that I don’t get whatever it is that Brad has and that he gets better soon!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Ernie, family, Food, life, running, the boys, walter. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Adventures in Travel

  1. Laura says:

    Yikes, how scary! I hope Brad is feeling better soon, and that you stay healthy. We’re criss-crossing paths… leaving TX today to go see family in the northeast. Merry Christmas!

  2. OH NO! Not a fun way to spend your “vacation”…praying Brad gets better soon and that you escape sickness. LMK if you need anything- we’re in Houston so I don’t think too far away. We’re doing a track run tonight if you need some run buddies.

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Holly! I appreciate it. I would definitely want some running buddies if I weren’t back and forth from the hospital!! Looking forward to meet up next time we are here for the marathon!

  3. Oh no, I hope Brad gets better and it’s not too serious! That is definitely not a fun way to spend Christmas vacation 😦 Great 15 miler!

  4. AWW sweetheart I am so sorry!! Time at the hospital is never a good vacation, I really hope he feels better.

    If it cheers you up in any way you are the random HBBC winner this week for some Annie’s goodies. If you want to shoot me an address I’ll work on getting that out for you.

  5. Pingback: Surgery and an Afternoon Run | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: I’m Back!! (Part 1) | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

