Surgery and an Afternoon Run

After a rough day Monday, Brad was feeling much better yesterday. He had a bit of an appetite again and even had enough energy to play cards with the fam!

20111221-115119.jpg

We turned his room into a little party and got told by the nurse that it was “illegal” to have the party unless she was invited 🙂

Around 4 I went home to get my run in and let Brad get a shower and some rest. I can’t remember the last time I have run in the afternoon, but after sitting in the car Saturday, then the hospital Monday and yesterday, it felt great and my legs were springy! That is a foreign feeling lately so I enjoyed it thoroughly. I did speed work with 10×400’s at 1:40 (6:40 min/mile) with 400 rest intervals. My dad walked the pups so we passed him several times and mom road alongside me on her bike and kept me company. In total I ran just shy of 8 miles and it was perfect!

20111221-134832.jpg

We spent the rest of the day talking with the doctor, then the surgeon and we made the decision late last night to have Brad’s gallbladder removed. They found several gall stones Monday in the CT scan at the urgent care, but his liver enzymes were only moderately elevated so the doctors weren’t positive that was what made him sick. It was going to have to be removed in the near future regardless, so we made the decision to have the surgery now since he was already prepped (with an IV, etc.) and in the hospital.

When we went to bed last night we weren’t sure what time the surgery would be but they came and got him at 6:30 this morning and started surgery just before 8. Unfortunately I planned to get to the hospital around 7 so I didn’t get to see him before surgery. I was in the waiting room when it was finished and got to talk to his surgeon. Dr. Fairweather (great name, huh?) said he did great but his gallbladder was very inflamed and he is fairly certain that is what caused him to be sick. We feel very good about the decision now!!

Now he is recovering well and we will most likely get to take him home today!

Meanwhile he is missing the dogs like crazy and keeps asking for pictures. They are in very good and spoiling hands with my parents!

20111221-121234.jpg

20111221-121250.jpg

20111221-121301.jpg

Thanks for the sweet thoughts and comments about Brad. There is never really a good time for something like this but at least I am on vacation and can spend all my time with him. It is also nice to have my family here to help with the dogs and keep us company in the hospital!

We will be back to our regularly scheduled Christmas fun soon!!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in family, life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Surgery and an Afternoon Run

  1. Laura says:

    Wow! Glad you figured out what was going on, and could take care of it. Like you said, never a great time for that, but probably better while you’re all free to be available and on vacation! Hope the rest of your Christmas break is back to normal! Great run, too!

  2. Lindsey says:

    So glad to hear that he is feeling better! My dad was in the hospital over Thanksgiving, and you’re right that having everyone home/off of work definitely makes it a lot easier. Hopefully he can rest up, and y’all will have a great break in spite of all of this!

  3. I’m so glad he is better and they found the reason he was getting so sick! You’re right, it is really nice that you are off anyway and can stay at the hospital – I’m sure it makes it less stressful!!! Hoping for a speedy recovery and happy holidays!

  4. Pingback: I’m Back!! (Part 1) | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: I Back!! (Part 2) | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: I’m Back!! (Part 2) | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

