2012: Off to the Races!

Tomorrow I will go into depth about my goals for 2012, but as I started putting those together, I got caught up in one of my primary goals. To RACE. And race a lot. (Well, a lot for me :)) So I thought I would go ahead and put together my race calendar first and address my goals later. Backwards? Yes. Do I care? No.

The good news is that I have FREE ENTRIES into all of the triathlons in the Y Tri Series, because I placed first in the series last year. While these races are small (hence me being the overall winner), they are fun and laid back and they will make up the majority of my tri’s this summer. Then I will spend the early spring and fall running!

Here is the (tentative) schedule for 2012:

  • January 15 – Houston Marathon. No details needed.
  • February – My February race is still a little up in the air. Originally I planned to do the Green Valley 10-MilerThis is a race I have volunteered at (after I broke my shoulder in 2010) but somehow managed to be out of town for every other year we have lived in Greenville. I have run the course a number of times and it is tough, but since I have never run a 10-miler, it would be an automatic PR. For some unknown (to me) reason, the race organizers recently CHANGED THE DATE of the race! So now the race is on a weekend I will be traveling for work. Hmmph. I am now considering this 5k in Columbia, on February 11th, but I am not sure I want to drive an hour to run a 5k. Maybe if Lindsey wants to run though?!?!
  • March – So kind of like I have never done the Green Valley Race. I have ALWAYS run the Reedy River 10k. It is my favorite race and the only 10k race I have ever done. I was hoping to break 45:00 on this tough course this year, BUT I will be funning and sunning in Jupiter, FL that weekend for a dear friend’s bachelorette party. My target race for March (that I have not yet registered for) is the inaugural GHS Centennial Half Marathon on March 10. It is being touted as “flat and fast” (um, in Greenville?!) because of its net elevation loss.
  • April 14 Come See Me Super Sprint Triathlon in Rock Hill, SC. I have no idea what a super sprint is since the distances are not posted yet.
  • May 5Tri the Rock Sprint Triathlon in Rock Hill, SC
  • June 9 – Sunrise Run 8K in Simpsonville, SC. This is another race where I have run the course tons of times but managed to be gone every year on the date of the race. Crossing my fingers it works outs this time! And June 30Y Dam Tri Sprint in Hartwell, GA.
  • July 28Tom Hoskins Memorial Sprint Triathlon in Columbia, SC.

Everything in the schedule beyond July is subject to change based on the tiniest chance that I get into the INGNYC Marathon. I registered and am crossing my fingers that I am part of the ~8-12% of non-NYC area, U.S. residents that get a non-guaranteed entry.

  • August 4 Lake Logan International Triathlon in Canton, NC & August 25Tri Toccoa YMCA Olympic Triathlon in Toccoa, GA
  • September – Still undetermined. Maybe The Dam Tri at Lake Murray on the 30th? Or the Tri at Baxter in Fort Mill, SC on a TBD in September?
  • October 27Sphinx Run Fest 1/2 Marathon. Ran in as my first “real” half in 2008, but the date was moved back a week and always overlapped with a work trip after that. Now that I have switched positions, I am looking forward to running a race that runs a block from my house!
  • November 4 – Fingers crossed for NYC Marathon!! Also might look into this Turkey Trot in Houston since I will be there for Thanksgiving.
  • December 15Greenville Santa Run 8K. I have always wanted to do a Santa Run and wear fun Christmas socks. This is the year!

Whew! I am tired already! But super excited about all the fun races on the calendar. I am sure there will be a number of things that change based on trips that come up and races missed, but I still hope to get at least 12 races in the books for 2012!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Goals, Races, running, training, triathlon, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 2012: Off to the Races!

  1. Laura says:

    That’s a great list! I was tempted to do one a month too, but then remembered it’s nearly impossible to race in TX in July/August… I did the Houston Turkey Trot this year, that would be really fun to see you there next year!

  2. Pingback: 2012 Goals | Schnoodles of Fun!

  3. Looks great, I love it! Good luck on getting into NYC and I can’t wait to follow you through Houston!!!!

  4. Pingback: Oh, I Forgot One! | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: Houston Marathon Goals & Strategy | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: Double Day & Long Run Fueled by Bud Light Lime | Schnoodles of Fun!

  7. Pingback: To Race or Not to Race? | Schnoodles of Fun!

  8. Pingback: TGIF | Schnoodles of Fun!

  9. Quality posts is the important to be a focus for
    the users to pay a visit the site, that’s what this web site is providing.

  10. Please flick thru our vary of strip lights and spotlights to order your personal
    as we speak. When you need more details about a specific fixture
    or mannequin, please simply drop us a line or give us a call.
    Our knowledgeable group is ready and ready that will help you to search out one of the best LED
    strip lighting obtainable. Package deal included:Black Cree U2 LED Headlight Spot
    Mild. Product Title: 2PCS 18W 10V-30V SPOT CAR
    JEEP ATV SUV LED WORK MILD BAR BEAM OFFROAD 4×four. LED energy:
    18w.

  11. Dorati later recorded this music for Philips in stereo with the Concertgebouw, however
    this, the primary full model on disk, remains a basic.
    The New Music Quartet was formed in 1948, and disbanded in 1956.

  12. So in short, getting good at doc assembly takes a good period of time and energy, which most busy practitioners are in short
    provide of. If there have been a product that had less of s studying curve and was
    easy to implement, attorneys would flock to it.
    Below strain (as most are), attorneys need to focus most
    on successful and serving shoppers. Microsoft very quietly brought barcodes back
    in Word 2013 after dropping them again in 2007.

Tell me what you think!

