2012 Goals

After reading 2012 goals posts from other bloggers, and thinking a lot about what I want to accomplish this year, I realized that this is the first time since we wrote our season goals for softball in college, that I have actually sat down and wrote out my goals. Being a goal-oriented person, this realization struck me as very odd. I have never been much of a resolution-type person, but I am sure I have had goals in mind for what I want to accomplish every year personally, athletically and professionally. The reality is, I just have never put them in writing and made myself accountable.

Honestly, I am not afraid to do this at all! I am excited! I am looking forward to telling the world (or the couple of people who read this blog) what I want to accomplish, then checking back in throughout the year to see how I am progressing. So without further ado, in no particular order, here are my 2012 goals:

  1. Execute my marathon race plan and run a 3:40 marathon. I talked about this a little hereand of course it is fresh on the brain since the Houston Marathon is a mere week and a half away. I will get into my detailed race goals and strategy next week, but as you can imagine they go something like this: negative splits, smart hydrating, strong through 23+ miles…

    I want to run faster than I did that day!

  2. Race at least once a month. Despite spending most of the year training in 2011 (70.3, marathon), I still managed to race 8 times, not including the Poor Man’s Half Ironman. Next year, I want to race! I have even laid out my year in races, for the first time ever!

    Augusta 70.3! I love racing!

  3. Run Fast(er). Sub 1:44:00 Half MarathonSub 45:00 10k, Sub 36:00 8k (have only done this distance once), Legit sub 21:00 5k(I ran a 21:02 5k in a sprint tri last spring but because the tri course wasn’t certified I am not sure the distance was accurate).

    Savannah 1/2! Best race ever...but I still want to run faster!

  4. Consistent Weekly Mileage. Even when I am not training for something, I would like to keep up consistent running mileage throughout the year. This means, I want to run at least 20 miles/week and log at least 1000 miles for the year. If I get into NYC marathon, I will blow this number away! According to Garmin Connect, I ran 821 miles this year, but I only have data back to March (and that only includes 3 runs). Of course I also didn’t run with my Garmin every time, so I am positive the total was well above that. I am not really into Daily Mile or anything like that, but even when I don’t use the Garmin, I now have the blog to document my running!
  5. Ride Fast(er). 20+ mph in races. Consistently.
  6. Pile on Miles on the Bike. The only way to get faster on the bike is to ride.  I learned quickly last summer how much putting in mileage improves my speed. I want to build on that this year and rack up the miles. Since I am not training for a half iron again, I might not have the motivation to do 100+ miles weekly, but that doesn’t mean I can’t be consistent throughout the year. Last year I rode 1450 miles (that were tracked on my Garmin). I didn’t get the Garmin until May, but once I did, I used it almost every ride, with a few exceptions so I would guess that total is closer to 1800. I want to ride at least 50 miles a week in the spring/summer/early fall, with additional once weekly rides in the winter and late fall months. The goal is  to ride 1900+ miles. 
  7. Swim once a week. When not in tri season I absolutely want to swim once a week. This is a goal I had during marathon training this year and it is a goal I will continue to have throughout next year. During triathlon season, the goal is to swim twice a week. The best estimate I can make (by checking training logs starting in May) is that I swam just shy of 85,000 m in 2011! I was definitely swimming regularly before May, so I would be shocked if the total was anything less than 100,000 m. It doesn’t take much math to figure out that if I only swim once a week (I typically swim 2000 m when I hit the pool), then I will easily surpass 100,000 m in 2012. So that is the goal!
  8. Strength train, do abs & complete “other” workouts. I won’t be unrealistic and act like I am going to go crazy and start strength training as much as 2-3 times a week. I will strength train and do abs no less than once a week. I will find my way back to the Boot Camp class at my gym a few times a month and when I don’t have access to a gym I will do body weight activities like dynamic lunges, squat jumps, burpees (ugh!), mountain climbers, etc. I also want to learn what the heck this whole Tabata thing is all about as well as look into some Cross Fit WOD’s.
  9. Do Yoga. I know nothing about yoga and although I have done a video here or there, I really can’t say that I have ever truly done yoga. This year, I will take at least one legitimate yoga class.
  10. Eat 7 – 10 Fruits & Veggies a Day. After HBBC, I believe that I have started to get into a habit of incorporating fruits and veggies into my daily diet. I do better when I am not traveling (and have been to the grocery store) and I know that I won’t succeed in this every. single. day., but I will continue to make this a goal every time I get out of bed in the morning.
  11. Nurture the blog. I intentionally will not make it a goal to “grow” my blog. While I absolutely love when others read my blog, I did not start it with the intention of having tons of readers and becoming a “big” blog. I started it to join a really awesome community of runners/triathletes/bloggers and to meet people with similar goals and interests. I also love the accountability it provides and having an account of my training and life in general. My goal is to spend time blogging at least 3 times a week and to make my blog better in general. My goal is to add/complete a travel page, dig up some pictures that I do not have electronically and include them in the “About Us” section and get my professional wedding pics up on the “Becoming the Parkers” page.
  12. Stay in Touch. I need to stay in better touch with my friends. That is all.

    These are my BFF's. We need to talk more.

  13. Quit obsessing over what others think. This is probably the most challenging goal on this list. I care about what other people think. A lot. I obsess over whether I said something wrong or if this or that person doesn’t like me. I lay awake at night wondering if so-and-so was upset because of something Brad said (because when you are this crazy over other peoples’ approval, you also take on that burden for your spouse). It has to stop. Believe it or not, Brad has brought me a long way in the time we have been together. At least now, I tend to not care what people who I don’t care about (i.e. don’t like, don’t respect, don’t know) think, but I still waste way too much energy worrying. Don’t get me wrong, I still will consider my friends’ and family’s feelings and what makes them happy, but I WILL NOT WASTE TIME, ENERGY OR HOURS OF SLEEP obsessing over every little opinion someone has of me, what I said, did or didn’t do.

Whew! That is a lot to accomplish in one year. And I didn’t even start on professional goals,  marriage goals or house goals! I am looking forward to a fresh start and another fun year!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, family, Food, friends, Goals, life, Races, running, swimming, technology, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2012 Goals

  1. finebethy says:

    Nice!…Goodluck with your goals..:)

  2. Laura says:

    What an impressive list! We have very similar pace goals… I’m so excited for you to go for the 3:40! You are well prepared. And good for you for aiming to worry less about what others think. I think a lot of women struggle with that, I can relate with wanting to be a people-pleaser and have worked hard to move past that, too. Looking forward to getting to know you better this year!

  3. Lindsey says:

    That is a crazy (in a good way) list! If you’re looking for some good cross-training workouts for when you’re on the road, our gym has a Travel WODs page that includes some Tabata exercises. http://carolinacrossfit.com/travel-wods

  4. Good luck with all of your goals, I think this is an awesome list that will push you, yet it’s achievable! Can’t wait to follow your progress!!!

  5. Pingback: Oh, I Forgot One! | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: Houston Marathon Goals & Strategy | Schnoodles of Fun!

  7. Pingback: Workout Log | Schnoodles of Fun!

  8. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  9. Pingback: 2012 Half-Way Goal Check |

  10. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 |

Tell me what you think!

