The Race Weekend

This is what this weekend should look like:

Friday: Work half day, then direct flight out of Greenville into Hobby Airport, arriving at 3:00. My parents will be there to pick us up, then we will have dinner with my grandparents that evening. Early bed time.

Saturday a.m.: So excited for the runner/blogger meet-up for the Olympic Trials on Saturday morning. The Trials will be awesome and I can’t wait to see the results. AND This is the first time that I will meet any other bloggers in person! I have had fun “getting to know” several ladies that will be there over the last several months and I am ready to meet them in real life! It will be an early wake-up call to get to the designated meeting spot by 7:45 a.m. (My parents live about 30 min. south of Houston) and I am a little nervous about finding parking and the location, but hopefully I will leave myself plenty of time!

After the Trials, I plan to head to the convention center to get my race packet & check out the expo. My cousin is also doing the marathon (her first!!) and if she decides not to go to the trials with me, then I will meet her to go to the convention center together.

Lisa and I on my big day!

Saturday p.m.: My parents will be heading up to Houston  in the RV sometime that afternoon so that we can stay (with all the comforts of home) closer to the race start. It will also give my family a warm, dry place to hang out during parts of the race in case the weather is bad. I plan to meet them at the “camping” spot and relax for the rest of the day. (Camping in my family entails satellite TV). My mom will cook dinner that evening and I will be in bed early!

Sunday a.m.: RACE DAY! Lisa and I will head over early because my corral closes at 6:40 a.m. for the 7 a.m. start. Ouch! We should have tons of fans since we have lots of family in the Houston area. Lisa’s boyfriend, Alex, has ridden the bike next to her or run with her for every. single. mile. of her training. He has as much invested in this race as she does and I suspect that he will be our number one cheerleader out on the course. I am counting on him to get the rest of the crew moving around to see us at various spots, instead of just the start and finish!

I don’t need to write obsess anymore about the race day goals or strategy, so I will move on to after the race…

After winning this past weekend, The Houston Texans will be playing in their 2nd playoff game ever against Baltimore on Sunday afternoon! We will be celebrating the marathon and relaxing while watching the game, but I don’t know where yet!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in family, Goals, life, Races, running, training, weekend fun. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Race Weekend

  1. bearrunner says:

    Good luck! Sounds like a great weekend

    cheers

  2. Laura says:

    Great plans! I love that your family will have the RV nearby for Sunday. Yep- it’s going to be two early mornings, but I’m sure all the excitement will help get us up! Excited to see you Saturday!

  3. Sounds like a great plan! Good luck!!!! Your cousin’s boyfriend is a rockstar and sooo supportive!

Tell me what you think!

