Weekly Recap: MARATHON WEEK!

Countdown: The Week of Houston!

This week was, of course, all about preparation! I met my sleeping and cross-training goals and was happy with how I felt going into the race. I guess since I won’t be training anymore, this will be my last week of weekly recaps! I will have to find some other way to keep track as these posts really are helpful for me, even if they are a little redundant.

Monday – 40 minutes elliptical: Since I had a beautifully restful and productive weekend, I planned to get to bed early Sunday evening and get up for a swim this morning. Turns out since I slept in late and took a nap Sunday, I wasn’t able to fall asleep at a reasonable time. The goal is to get NO LESS than 7 hours of sleep per night this week, so I slept in with the plan to hit up the gym after work. The motivation? Getting to watch an episode of __ on my iPad during the workout. Nice, easy, 40 minutes on the trainer.

Tuesday – 4.54 miles w/ 6×400 @ 1:39: Finally! The taper lethargy started to wear off. Despite how slow I felt in my warm-up mile, I looked down at my watch to see that I was running an 8:33 pace! The first 400 was tough, but once my legs got used to going faster, the others weren’t bad and the workout was over quickly! My repeats: 1:39, 1:39, 1:39, 1:38, 1:37, 1:38.

Wednesday – 1800 m swim: I am choosing to sleep in and get as much rest as possible this week over getting my sweat on before work. Since I wanted to swim today, I knew that my ability to get a lane to swim in after work was at risk. Fortunately when I got there, the swim coach put a couple of swimmers in a lane together and let me have a lane!Awesome! I still spent a bit too much time messing with my waterproof headphones, but when I could hear the music, it made the time go by super fast and made me swim hard! I stopped once to fix the headphones and couldn’t believe how hard I was breathing! I didn’t even realize I was pushing hard!

Thursday – 3.0 miles @ MP 8:23 min/mile: I waited until after work to get this run in because once again I chose quality sleep over morning workouts. It was rainy and there is so much more traffic on my regular short route at night! I definitely don’t see myself ever becoming an evening runner! I finally felt pretty fresh and the pace came easily.

Friday -OFF/Travel

Saturday – OFF/Marathon Trials

Sunday – HOUSTON MARATHON: 3:43:59!! A PR!! Race report coming soon!

Total Miles: 32.2 miles

Previous Weeks:

  • Week 1: 17.4 miles (Augusta 1/2 Ironman week!)
  • Week 2: 15.2 miles (recovery)
  • Week 3: 26.2 miles
  • Week 4: 29.1 miles
  • Week 5: 31.3 miles
  • Week 6: 32 miles
  • Week 7: 20.1 miles (Savannah 1/2 Marathon)
  • Week 8: 28.8 miles
  • Week 9: 30.5 miles
  • Week 10: 39.3 miles
  • Week 11: 36 miles
  • Week 12: 33 miles
  • Week 13: 32 miles
  • Week 14: 36.6 miles
  • Week 15: 27.8 miles
  • Week 16: 18.4 miles
  • Week 17: RACE WEEK!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in running, training, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Recap: MARATHON WEEK!

  1. Laura says:

    I’m impressed you still got in a bit of speedwork race week… your training all went so smoothly. Can’t wait to read the race report!

  2. Terzah says:

    Corey! Great time! So happy you got a PR. It was great to meet you and I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog.

  3. Page says:

    Woooohooooo! Congrats on the PR!

Tell me what you think!

