Olympic Marathon Trials

I will get to the race report soon, but in the interest of keeping things in chronological order, I want to talk about the Olympic Marathon Trials first.

It was a beautiful morning heading into the city!

I will start by saying that no pictures I post here and nothing I can write with my words will describe what an amazing experience it was to see this in person. Being right there while athletes who have trained for years leading up to one race to achieve their Olympic dream was awesome!

What made it even better? Sharing it with other runners (and bloggers) who also are in love with this sport and were just as excited as I was to take in this opportunity!

Laura, Kellie, Terzah, Holly, Amanda, Me (with bad posture)

This is the first time I have ever met up with anyone who I have “met” on-line in real life, so I was a bit nervous, but it was so much fun! Everyone was so nice and I was blown away by how easy it was to hang out with people for several hours who I had never met before!

Thanks to Kellie and Holly, who knew the course layout, we had a great spot at miles 2, 10, 18 and 26.  We got to see the men and women each 4 times and since they started 15 minutes apart, there was very little time spent waiting around. It seemed like there was constantly action!

Women at Mile 2

Lead Men at Mile 10

Lead Women at Mile 10

Top 3 Men at Mile 18

Abdi (3rd place) at Mile 26

Shalane (winner!) at Mile 26

Thank you Holly and Laura for letting me steal your pictures 🙂 I am truly not that great at taking pictures, especially when I am too excited to cheer and don’t want to miss anything.

source

The men’s Olympic Marathon team will be Meb Keflezighi, Ryan Hall and Abdi Abdirahman and the women’s team will be Shalane Flanagan, Desi Davila and Kara Goucher. The finish was heartbreaking for Dathan Ritzenhein, who placed 4th by a mere 8 seconds. He was gaining on Abdi at the end but just ran out of time. Terzah has an amazing post about the emotion she witnessed between Dathan and his family at the finish.

After the trials, Laura and I went to get our race packets and to check out the expo. It was packed, as I think everyone else had the same idea we did! But it was very fun to hang out with Laura and talk about running, racing and life. She is one of the sweetest people I have ever met and I truly enjoyed getting to know her better.

I bought some peanut butter Gu to bring back for Char and I and also picked up an apple pie Bonk Bar because I hadn’t tried that flavor. There were so many exhibitors and I have to admit it was a little overwhelming!

It was a very fun day, but I definitely was on my feet a little too much! When Laura and I went our separate ways, I just wanted to find something to eat and rest! And that is pretty much what I did for the rest of the day. I found my way over to my parents and Brad and enjoyed their company until it was time to head to bed!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, Races, running, training. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Olympic Marathon Trials

  1. Terzah says:

    I hear you about the expo–I love marathon expos, but why do they always have to be right before marathons??? When I can’t afford to walk around and really soak ’em up???

    It was GREAT meeting you too and I love those pictures.

  2. Laura says:

    Aww, you’re sweet! I had such a great time meeting you, too! Too bad we’re not in the same city. 😦 Glad you could use some of the pictures… I realized afterwards I didn’t zoom in at all–would have been nice to have a few close ups.

  3. Lindsey says:

    I’m so jealous you got to see this in person. I felt SO bad for Dathan Ritzenhein… to finish 4th (the only thing that matters) while running a PR under 2:10 (what should have been the best performance of his life)… and never before had four American men run under 2:10 in a race. Ugh. Since he fell back several miles from the finish, he had to know that he was going to finish 4th barring some miracle, AND he was running all by himself, and yet he never quit. I thought that was super inspiring.

    Can’t wait for your race recap tomorrow!

  4. Pingback: Miami & Stuff | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: TXU Turkey Trot 10k |

Tell me what you think!

