The Ultimate Recovery Weekend

I can think of no better way to spend the weekend following a marathon (or any weekend for that matter) than the way we spent this past weekend. Brad and I celebrated our 2nd Wedding Anniversary (which was on the 16th – the day after the marathon) this weekend in Highlands, NC.

When I originally registered for Houston, I asked Brad if he minded spending our anniversary weekend in Texas with my family while I ran a marathon. He just shrugged and said, that’s fine. But as it got closer, he decided that we should celebrate it “right” and booked the weekend at Old Edward’s Inn, which is a Historic Hotel nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Needless to say, I have been looking forward to this since the day it was booked. 

We left after work Friday and fortunately Highlands and the hotel are only 75 miles from Greenville because we were both a bit antsy, tired and hungry on the way up. As soon as we arrived, they gave us a tour and champagne and we immediately began to relax. And that pretty much set the tone for the weekend…

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Madison’s, on Friday night. It is a farm-to-table concept and not only did they give us the coziest corner booth full of cushions, but they decorated our table with rose pedals!

After great food and wine Friday night, we enjoyed nearly 12 hours of sleep before hitting the spa for the day Saturday. I took 3 days off after the race but then did 45 minutes on the elliptical and some upper body weights Thursday afternoon and an easy 5 mile run with Char on Friday morning. Although I thought these were pretty acceptable post-race sweat sessions, my still-fatigued muscles were in dire need of a massage!

After a day at the spa and an afternoon of mimosas and naps, we finally braved the rain and left the hotel for the first time all day! We crossed the street to dinner at Paoletti’s, an amazing Italian restaurant where we drank more wine and ate more delicious food.

We were able to escape reality for a bit longer Sunday as we slept in then headed back home to pick up our boys, run errands and watch football with friends. I also took Walter for a short 4-miler Sunday afternoon and was quickly reminded that, despite the mental and physical recovery this weekend, my legs are still not ready to get back to running!

 

 

 

 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in family, Food, life, Races, running, weekend fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ultimate Recovery Weekend

  1. Terzah says:

    That sounds perfect, both from a recovery standpoint and an anniversary standpoint! Congrats–glad you got some R&R.

  2. Sounds like an amazing weekend and an amazing way to celebrate your anniversary! Love the picture 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    I’m so jealous! 12 hours of sleep and a day at the spa? So perfect! That’s great timing too… marathon recovery is the ideal time for a relaxing getaway with no guilt! Happy anniversary!

  4. Terzah says:

    I know I already commented…but I wanted to let you know I tagged you in my 11 Things post. If these kinds of things annoy you, feel free to ignore it. But otherwise I’m looking forward to your answers! :^)

  5. Pingback: Workout Log | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

