Back to the Track!

I credit the Greenville Track Club track workouts (and the 2 friends who encouraged me to attend them) to my ability to go from a 2:03 half marathon to a 1:54 in only 6 months. These workouts were my first introduction to speedwork of any kind and definitely taught my legs how to run faster and allowed my head to see that I could run faster. I have since incorporated a great deal more speed work into my training and have dropped an additional 10 minutes off of my half marathon PR.

The track workouts also introduced me to running with others and gave me the confidence that I could do long runs with my “fast” friends, Amy and Char. These two ladies are now my regular running buddies.

Char & I hiking in Cinque Terre, Italy

(P.S. This picture is not related to running at all, but I like it anyway)

Despite my affection for the workouts at the Greenville High School track, I have not been to a Wednesday night session in well over a year. The only explanation I have is that when I am marathon/triathlon training, I try to get my workouts completed in the morning and fear that I won’t get the miles in if I don’t. But since I haven’t been training for something the entire year + that I have failed to show up at the track, realistically, I think I just got out of the routine.

BUT, last night that all changed! I finally dragged my non-social running self to the track for a workout. And guess what?! I loved it! It was everything I remembered in making killer speedwork into a fun, social activity! And thanks to the tank-top and shorts running temps in January, there were a whopping 30+ people there for the workout, including lots of newbies and people like me who had taken a little hiatus from the track.

I am using the term “killer speedwork” extremely lightly here because I didn’t truly have a tough speed workout at all. I am still recovering from Houston and am not ready to push my legs yet, so I did the distance with the group, but did not push the pace. I planned complete the speed intervals at about marathon pace, but 7:30 – 7:45 felt comfortable, so I just went with it.

The workouts are emailed out each week on Sunday and this week’s workout looked like this:

  • 1600 easy warm-up
  • 400 speed
  • 800 speed
  • 400 speed
  • 800 speed
  • 400 speed
  • 400 speed – 1 relay leg (I skipped this)
  • 1600 easy cool down

400 rest interval between each speed interval

Total Speed = 2 miles

Total Distance = 4.75 miles

The last week of the month, there is always a relay (where teams are chosen in the old school-yard, “I pick you” fashion), so the speed work is cut back a bit.

This is definitely a reduction in volume from the speed work I was doing during marathon training, but there is always freedom to make this workout whatever you desire. For now, this is EXACTLY what I need to maintain a speed work element in my life-after-marathon-training.

Unfortunately I will be traveling for work next Wednesday so I won’t be able to get into a weekly routine, but I plan to be there and ready to hit the paces hard the following week! Stayed tuned to see if that happens…

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, Greenville, running, training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to the Track!

  1. Looks like a great workout! I’m exactly the same – I tend to like to run on my own so I can go when I want and do what I want….but whenever I go with a group I really enjoy it 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    I love that you have a group like that to run with! There are some evening track workouts nearby, but I’m like you with wanting to get it done in the morning… I should look into it, though. I’m sure the accountability would be a good thing to ensure I get the speed work in!

  3. Pingback: Workout Log | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

