Workout Log

For as long as I have been writing this little blog of mine, I have been training for something (i.e. Augusta 70.3, Savannah, Houston). As a result, it made sense for me to keep to a weekly recap of my workouts with short descriptions of what I did, for how long and what the paces were. Honestly, this was more for me to keep track than anything, but I like to follow other bloggers’ training schedules to see if I can learn something, so I figure others might like to see what my training looks like too.

Now that I am not training for anything specific, I don’t really see a great deal of benefit (for me or anyone else) in continuing to post weekly recaps. Yet, I set some pretty specific goals for mileage and workouts for the year, so I would like a way to keep track. I do not use Daily Mile and don’t really know if I want to and I also don’t think I would keep up with a spreadsheet.

So that leaves me with a dilemma (I know, #firstworldproblems). But for now I think I will do a summary every 2 weeks of what my workouts/mileages were then I can scan back through later in the year to see how things went! We’ll see how this works out…

January 16 – 22

  • Monday – Rest & Travel Home from Houston
  • Tuesday – Rest/Recovery
  • Wednesday – Rest/Recovery
  • Thursday – 45 minutes on elliptical watching Revenge. Upper body weights, abs, stretching
  • Friday – ~5 mile run w/Char (8:49 min/mile)
  • Saturday – Rest/Recovery
  • Sunday – 4.25 mile run w/Walter (9:01 min/mile)
Total = 9.25 miles run

January 23 – 29

  • Monday – 5:30 a.m. Masters Swimming – 3000 yds
  • Tuesday – Rest, 20 minute walk w/Brad & dogs
  • Wednesday – Greenville Track Club Speed Workout – 4.75 miles
  • Thursday – 5:30 a.m. Masters Swimming – 1850 yds. (600 swimming + 1250 kicking/breast stroke)
  • Friday –  5:30 a.m. Spin w/Char – 21 miles
  • Saturday – 6 mile run w/Amy (yay! for old running partnerships re-kindled after training!) (9:02 min/mile)
  • Sunday – A million trips to and from Lowe’s/Home Depot and strength training by lifting way too many 12′ composite decking boards.

Totals:

  • Run = 10.75 miles
  • Swim = 4800 yds.
  • Bike = 21 miles

After a solid week of taking it easy on everything followed by a week of very light running + decent cross-training, I am pleased with my recovery and the way my body feels after Houston. My legs are still slightly heavy/fatigued, but no twinges or aches. Now if I can get this shoulder thing figured out, I will be good to go!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, training, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Workout Log

  1. Laura says:

    Glad you’re feeling so good 2 weeks out! I hope you keep doing weekly recaps, whether or not you’re in training mode, I like reading them. 🙂

  2. I like reading recaps, regardless of whether or not someone is training for something! It’s fun to see what others are doing and I think you can still learn from them 🙂

  3. i agree i can’t decide whether to keep posting workouts or not. ehh i will for now!

    yeahh so glad you have recovered well!! my foot is on the mend, so now my brain is thinking half marathon training!

  4. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 |

Tell me what you think!

