BODYATTACK & My Gym Decision

Tuesday morning, I planned to go to a 5:45 a.m. spin class. As usual when I don’t have the accountability of a friend meeting me, I shut off my alarm and slept for an extra hour+, knowing that with dinner plans that evening, I might not get in a workout at all.

I brought workout clothes to work with me and checked the schedules at both of my gyms (more on that later) and saw that one of my favorite classes was being held at 5:45 pm. I had a stressful workday and was exhausted at 5:15 when I was leaving the office and even though I was tempted to go home and relax with Brad before dinner, I imagined how I would feel after the class and that was all I needed to get my butt to the gym.

The class I took was BODYATTACK. If you haven’t heard of it before, it is part of the Les Mills family of classes (i.e. BODYPUMP, RPM, etc.). According to the website,

BODYATTACK is the sports-inspired cardio workout for building strength and stamina. This high energy interval training class combines athletic aerobic movements with strength and stabilization exercises. Dynamic instructors and powerful music motivate everyone toward their fitness goals – from the weekend athlete to the hard core competitor!

That is the official definition. My description is: it is an awesome class with fantastic music that will make you SWEAT! I first started taking this class about 6 years ago when I lived in Illinois, and even though I haven’t been since I started my endless triathlon/marathon training cycle last spring, I jumped right back in. If you haven’t taken it, find a gym in your area with Les Mills classes and go visit as a guest. There has been a great deal of research that has shown that plyometrics can help improve running strength and BODYATTACK is  a class full of high impact, fast-paced plyometrics.

I was obviously so glad I went to the class and now my calf and butt muscles are sore and I love it!

My Gym Decision

All of this discussion about awesome classes at the gym, brings me to my pending gym decision dilemma. When I moved to Greenville in 2008, I automatically chose my gym based on the availability of Les Mills’ classes. I signed up for two locations of SportsClub, the one closest to home and the one close to my work. I never questioned my decision and happily went to my gym for the first few years.

Then came triathlon. You see, the SportsClub locations I belonged to only had one small pool that might be ~18 meters long. Sure, I swam there a few times, but when I started getting more serious about training, I needed to find a better solution. That decision was easy too because the 3rd location (that is very inconvenient from work and home) has a really nice 25 meter pool and my training buddy, Char, was a member there. So I added the 3rd location and that worked for about a year. Of course there were times that it was inconvenient, but I dealt with the driving and traffic when I wanted to hit the pool.

Then Char and I were introduced to Masters Swimming at the local YMCA. Our super-fast -swimmer friend, Carolyn, teaches Masters Swimming there and she invited us to one of their practices. It was awesome! The gym is brand new and the pool is outside in the summer and has a bubble over it in the winter. Swimming in a group like that pushed me WAY harder than I can push myself and brought me back to my swim team days in high school!

Carolyn, Char and Me right after my finish

Aaaaand Masters Swimming is free with a YMCA membership. So Char and I sat on this for a few months and talked about it several times but never made the move (because obviously this had to be a joint decision :)). Then after I came back from Christmas, she said she was going to make the switch and try both for a month and see how it goes. So I did too, with full intention of cancelling the Sportsclub membership within the week.

Then 2 times this week, I visited the Sportsclub. Once Char and I used the showers there after running (it is literally 5 minutes from both of our offices) and the other time was obviously when I went to BODYATTACK.

So now you see my dilemma. The classes (with the exception of spinning) are better at one gym and the pool situation is 1000 times better at the other. And one of the YMCA locations (which I have not yet visited) is literally 1/2 a mile from my house.  I can even picture myself running there to swim or spin in the summer time!

I think I am leaning toward YMCA, but I can’t imagine canceling my beloved BODYATTACK class! And of course, paying for 2 gym memberships (in my mind) is a waste of money and not something I really want to do.

For now, I am in Palm Beach for work and have been procrastinating a run/speedwork that I already skipped yesterday, so I better get to running! I will keep you posted on the decision 🙂

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Greenville, life, running, swimming, training, triathlon, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BODYATTACK & My Gym Decision

  1. Laura says:

    Oooh, definitely a tough decision! Our Y has Les Mills classes, and a decent pool, although no Master’s swimming that I know of… I guess I haven’t looked into it. I’ve done Bodypump a lot, but never seen BodyAttack, sounds like an awesome workout!

  2. one of my great friends teaches body attack and loves it. If you are really focused on the tri i cant imagine giving up the pool!!

  3. Oh I was in the same position awhile ago…I gave up the gym with Les Mills. I still miss my beloved Body Pump classes, but I love the gym I picked so much more!

  4. Pingback: Double Day & Long Run Fueled by Bud Light Lime | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: Hump Day Musings | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  7. Pingback: Workout Log: March 12 – 25 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  8. Pingback: Workout Log: March 26 – April 8 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  9. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 |

Tell me what you think!

