Double Day & Long Run Fueled by Bud Light Lime

Hi Friends!

I spent the last 5 days in the Palm Beach (FL) area for this:

 

Looks pretty fancy huh? It is…but its also work. There was a VIP event for my biggest customer so I spent the weekend working, eating out, entertaining drinking and also freezing my rear off. It may have been 70 degrees but it was WINDY and with the clouds and sitting on the water, it was not warm.

BUT, let’s start with talking about my first DOUBLE workout day since 70.3 training. Of course it was nothing like the long swims and tempo bike rides from last summer, but that’s okay. I got up early before the event and only had enough time to squeeze in 35 minutes on the elliptical, so when I had a couple of hours between work and dinner, I hit the hotel gym AGAIN and banged out another 25 minutes and some core work to wrap up a solid cross-training day! I am proud of this because normally I would nap or relax before dinner, but I knew I had a night ahead that would be pretty unhealthy so I thought I would at least do something good for my body!

And the reason for the especially unhealthy night? I got a promotion at work that was announced back in early December and I finally told my biggest customer this week that I would be moving on after being their rep for 4 years. As a celebration, they decided to make Friday night somewhat of a “going away” party for me. To play it safe (I did have to work Saturday after all) I stuck to my go-to light beer (Bud Light Lime), but I drank plenty of ’em and we had a great night!

Fortunately we were back at the hotel at a reasonable time (about 11 p.m.), so I set my alarm for 6:30, with hopes that I would be able to drag myself out of bed for a “long” run in the morning. Surprisingly, I woke up wide awake at 6:10 and knew I would have plenty of time to get in the 8 miles I planned. I waited until it was slightly light out before heading out and felt great from the start!

This is the furthest I have gone since Houston and since I really want to work on getting faster, I aimed at keeping a brisk pace.

I am pretty sure I lost satellite for a bit in mile 2, because at one point I looked down and saw nearly an 11:00 pace and I definitely had not slowed that much from the first mile. Note: I didn’t really try to hit the paces at such evenly negatives splits – it just kind of happened that way!

After being a bit sore from BODYATTACK last week and pushing speed work a bit for the first time a few days earlier, I am pretty pleased with this run. My legs definitely weren’t springy and fresh but I felt strong, like I am still holding onto the fitness from the marathon. Usually I feel like all that hard work is gone too quickly, but hopefully I have managed the recovery/maintenance well enough this time to hold on to the benefits for all of the races I have coming up this spring and summer!

And now, I am finally home and am rudely interrupting the final night of a guys’ weekend. Brad and 3 of his fraternity brothers from college get together for the Super Bowl every year and this year he is hosting. It worked out perfect that I was gone for most of the weekend and now they only have to put up with me intruding for one night before they head back to Chicago, Kansas City and Roanoke tomorrow.

Happy Football Watching!

 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in life, parties, running, training, weekend fun, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Double Day & Long Run Fueled by Bud Light Lime

  1. Terzah says:

    Wow! Super fast! I’d say you are back (especially if you can do that after a late night and lots of beer).

  2. Laura says:

    That’s an awesome pace, nice work! Congrats on the promotion, too!

  3. Looks like fun! I love palm beach!!! And good for you for pounding out 8 miles at quitea solid pace!!

  4. Whoah, that’s an impressive run after a long night with some beers! Congrats on your promotion!

  5. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: Workout Log: January 30 – February 12 |

Tell me what you think!

