Workout Log: January 30 – February 12

After debating, then posting a 2-week workout log for the first time 2 weeks ago, I decided that this is definitely a good exercise (no pun intended) for me. I found that not only do I use this for tracking workouts, but at the beginning of the week, I also used this for planning workouts. After having a pretty strict running/training schedule for so long, the best way for me to not skip workouts is to have some accountability in my planning. I am more likely to follow through if I plan ahead for the week, than if I just wake up and decide what to do that day.

I am pretty happy with my recovery and how I have been able to build my running back up, along with some quality cross training, but disappointed that the shoulder is still sore. I am calling tomorrow to see if I can get an appointment with the ortho that treated me when I broke my shoulder. He is at Steadman Hawkins, which is a very well-known orthopedic/sports medicine clinic here in Greenville. I have to admit, I didn’t think the guy was all that personable and he definitely wasn’t all about getting to know me as a patient. It was all business. But he is a runner/cyclist and fully understands the desire to want to get back to doing what I love quickly and that is what is most important.

January 30 – February 5

  • Monday – 5.08 mile run w/Char (8:35 min/mile)
  • Tuesday – 5:45 a.m. Spin BodyAttack after work
  • Wednesday – OFF
  • Thursday – 7 miles w/speedwork (at tempo pace): 2 mile w/up, Speed: 400, 800, 1200, 800, 400, w/400 m rest intervals, 2 miles c/d (8:35 min/mile overall)
  • Friday – 35 minutes elliptical + 25 minutes elliptical & abs/core (double day!)
  • Saturday – 8 miles in Palm Beach (8:11 min/mile)
  • Sunday – OFF
Totals:
  • Run = 20.08 miles (hit the on-going off-season goal!)
  • Swim = 0 yds. (still nursing the shoulder)
  • Bike = 0 miles (darn traveling – and the weather was so beautiful at home too!)

February 6 – 12

  • Monday – 5.06 mile run with Walter – 8:06 min/mile overall pace: w/u, 3 miles at “tempo”: 8:05, 7:57, 7:45, c/d – Walter did great & even kept up well on the fast miles!
  • Tuesday – BodyAttack – yes I obviously still have not made a gym decision
  • Wednesday – Greenville Track Club Track workout! 5.76 miles w/400, 2×800, 400, 800, 400 (8:15 min/mile overall pace)
  • Thursday – Master’s Swim OFF 😦
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. Spinning – 24.5 miles
  • Saturday – 9.61 miles w/Char and Jesse at Furman (8:44) – hilly & fun!
  • Sunday – 1:45 p.m. Spinning – 23.5 miles + some power shopping for a fun bachelorette party coming up!

Totals:

  • Run = 20.53 miles
  • Swim = 0 yds.
  • Bike = 47.8 miles (almost to the goal of 50/week!) – although I know that spinning bike mileage is higher than actual

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, training, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workout Log: January 30 – February 12

  1. Laura says:

    I’m like you… i need a plan even when I’m not in training mode! Great job getting your running and biking miles back up. Hope this dr can help your shoulder!

  2. Pingback: It’s Who You Know… | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

