Candy-Free Week?

Hello from Miami! I just got here and am blogging from my hotel room with the balcony door open, looking over the Atlantic Ocean. This will be the only down-time I have for the next 6 days, so I am thoroughly enjoying it!

Yesterday, before I got the phone call informing me that I had an immediate doctor’s appointment,  this is the post I had intended to write…

(Side note: On the way down here I got a call from my original doctor’s office asking me if they could RESCHEDULE my appointment that is already a week and a half away! Thanks goodness I was able to get in yesterday. I may already be back swimming by the time I would have seen the doctor!)

For most people it seems that the time between Christmas and New Year’s  is when they struggle with too much indulgence in foods that are not part of their “normal” lifestyle. For some reason, I have never really had a huge problem with that. For me, it is the time around Valentine’s Day (followed shortly by my birthday) that I tend to over do it with the sweets. My mom and Brad’s mom usually send us awesome V-Day packages full of our favorite candy and treats and I spend the next few weeks consuming to my heart’s content (and my butt’s demise). This year was no different. Saturday we received and awesome package from my mother-in-law with this:

Yummy! No? The cookies were actually a gift from a neighbor and when I came home from work Monday, there was a whole plate of them. That didn’t last long. Oops!

I proceeded to consume a ridiculous amount of jelly hearts and other sweets on Monday and by the time I went to bed that night, I felt pretty gross. I was disappointed that I ate a ridiculous amount of sugar and my stomach hurt. I decided right then that I had to cut back.

Now, knowing my sweet tooth, I knew that telling myself that I would only indulge in moderation or that I would only enjoy the candy a little bit at a time would not work. For me, the more I eat, the more I crave. I thought maybe I should try to stop eating candy and sweets for a whole month. The more I thought about that, the more it seemed overwhelming and unrealistic to me. So I made a promise to myself that I would go just one week without eating candy. I told myself that I would take it one day at a time and see how things went after a week.

I have been told that after a while of not eating processed sugar, natural sugars in fruit are sweet enough to be satisfying. I have always wondered what that would be like, but never had the will-power to even make it a few days. But by taking it one day at a time, I think I can make it to 7 days, then decide what I want to do after that.

I am now on my second day with no candy or processed sugar (which might mean something different to me than the rest of the world, but I won’t get into the details now). I have absolutely had cravings during this time. Especially when I opened my purse to get my phone out yesterday morning and saw this:

I immediately took these out of my purse and left them at home, but a few stragglers still remain in my purse and I have resisted. I don’t have many tips on how to beat the cravings, other than just reminding myself that it is only one week and I can get through the challenge.

Also, I read this article today that has some good tips. I used the “apple trick” this afternoon when we landed in Miami and decided that I was hungry and ate a Lara Bar to satisfy my craving.

So there it is. I have now told the world that I will not eat candy for one week. Please hold me accountable and I will let you all know how it goes! And since I am convinced that the majority of the calories that I burn working out are replaced by candy, who knows? Maybe if I can truly cut it out for good, I will reach a real true “race weight” that I can be proud of?!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Food, Goals, life, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Candy-Free Week?

  1. Laura says:

    Good for you! I’ve found in the last few years that I feel gross after eating too much sugar too… never seemed to bother me when I was younger, but maybe part of it is starting to recondition myself to eat less of it. I’ve gone a few times over the lent season without sugar, not perfectly, but it really does help cut out some of the cravings. You can do it!! Online accountability will definitely help. 🙂

  2. Terzah says:

    This is so my same problem. I’ve also done what Laura has done (give it up for Lent) and I think I’ll be doing that again this year (starts next Weds). I would love to get to my true racing weight, too, and I think my thing for sugar is the main thing standing in my way.

  3. Pingback: Miami & Stuff | Schnoodles of Fun!

  4. Pingback: Sweet Free Week2: What I learned | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

