Miami & Stuff

Hi everyone! I didn’t realize until I logged into the blog today that it had been a week since I last posted. Wow, that week flew by! When I am at our big corporate boat shows like Miami, I am so wrapped up in a million things for work that everything else in life kind of gets put aside. Well…fortunately not everything, because I still completed some good workouts while I was in Miami and enjoyed sweating it out in the 80 degree weather.

Let’s get caught up with a little summary:

1. Update on the candy-free week: I did it! In fact, other than a few vanilla creme cookies at our show booth on Sunday, I didn’t have ANY sweets the whole week. The cookies were part of a Chex Mix/Mixed Nut/Cookie “lunch” when I didn’t have time to eat a real lunch in-between my work schedule and some afternoon meetings. It definitely was not the healthiest decision, but I kind of did it without thinking because I was SO hungry and didn’t have any other options at the time.

So what’s next? I had candy (Twizzlers & gummy hearts) yesterday when I got back as a little reward, but starting today, I have decided to give a shot for another week. I want to see how I do in a regular routine, with candy in the house and around me at work.

The interesting thing that I learned in the first week is that my outlook on this is very different when I challenge myself to do this, rather than just try to deprive myself of what I want. I guess it really is semantics, but somehow knowing that the challenge is only a week, my competitiveness kicks in and makes me want to accomplish the goal.

2. I had an awesome 10-mile run with Amanda while I was in Miami! I have read Run to the Finish for a while and first had the chance to meet her in Houston at the Olympic Trials. Since my work schedule was hectic, I was so happy that Amanda was up for a long run on Sunday morning when my work start was a little later. The miles FLEW by as we chatted away and I really enjoyed getting to know her in person! (Credit to Amanda for the picture – Thank you!)

3. Despite my candy-free week, I am ready for a little nutrition and life reset after this trip. Although I was able to squeeze in a workout 4 out of the 6 days, including 2 runs, I did not treat my body very well. Staying up late, getting up early, standing all day, skipping meals followed by big meals at dinner plus too much wine and vodka has left my body feeling worn out and blah. The last couple of days, even when I have felt hungry, I haven’t felt like eating, just because my body is so out of whack. Today, I ate small, healthy meals and tried to clean things up.

4. Finally, while I was in Miami and since I returned I have had truly bittersweet feelings toward wrapping up my work for my previous position and moving into my next one. And if I am really honest, the feelings are more “bitter” than “sweet”. This was my last boat show as a territory sales manager and now I am moving into more strategic position, so while I may have short stints at boat shows in the future, it won’t be in the same capacity. I have met so many people in the industry, some of which have become friends, and I will miss the regular interaction with the industry contacts and my customers. But above all, I will miss the team I work with now. I work with a group of individuals who are from and live all over the world and I can’t imagine a group with a better team culture and relationships. We spend a great deal of our time together laughing hysterically and giving each other a hard time and this culture has allowed our team to be successful, despite a tough market environment over the last 3 years.

I normally don’t talk in such great detail about work on the blog, but I felt like I had to share this as I manage through some (surprising) emotions toward my promotion.

End emotion/

I am looking forward to catching up on everyone’s blogs over the next couple of days!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Goals, life, running, training, weekend fun, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Miami & Stuff

  1. Laura says:

    I can understand the mixed emotion! But congrats on a new position, and doing so well with the candy! Sugar is tough. 🙂 Oh, and so fun that you and Amanda got to run together!!

  2. Looks like a great week! Congrats on the promotion, even if it is bittersweet 🙂 That’s awesome that you and Amanda got to go on a nice run together!

  3. Pingback: Workout Log: February 13 – 26 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  4. Pingback: Like Any Other Day… | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: Sweet Free Week2: What I learned | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: To Race or Not to Race? | Schnoodles of Fun!

  7. Pingback: Workout Log: March 26 – April 8 | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

