Workout Log: February 27 – March 11

February 27 – March 4

Despite 3 days off in the middle, this was a great two weeks of workouts! I FINALLY got back to the pool and fit some good bike/spin miles in and of course, ran the 1/2 marathon yesterday!

  • Monday – 5:15 a.m. Spin Class 23.4 miles – Not crazy about this instructor at all!
  • Tuesday – 7 mile run w/Char (8:38 min/mile) – Started slow with her dog, Callie, then picked it up to solid marathon-pace for the last 5 miles
  • Wednesday – Track Workout w/Greenville Track Club: 5 miles (8:15 min/mile) 1 mile w/up, 1×400, 3×800, 1×400, 1 mile c/d, w/400 m rest intervals
  • Thursday – 5:30 a.m. Swim – Easy 2200 yds.
  • Friday – 6 mile run: 5 mile progression run + 1 mile c/d (7:53 min/mile) & paddle boarding!
  • Saturday – OFF: long walk on the beach + lots of dancing!
  • Sunday – OFF – travel home from Jupiter
Totals:
  • Run = 18 miles
  • Swim = 2200 yds. (YAAAAY!!)
  • Bike = 23.4 miles

March 5 – 11

  • Monday – Master’s Swim after work OFF: Decided to just recover after the weekend. I was disappointed in myself at first since it was the third day in a row I hadn’t done anything, but in the end it was a good decision and Brad and I spent some quality time together instead.
  • Tuesday – 7.54 miles with Char (8:37 min/mile); It was really cold (about 29* – that’s COLD for South Carolina!) and I was having trouble breathing because I have a little throat restriction. Sounds weird, but I could breathe fine through my nose and I am not congested and don’t have a sore throat. I can’t barely talk so I sound terrible, but feel fine.
  • Wednesday – 5 mile track workout with Greenville Track Club: 1 mile w/u, 1×400, 2×800, 3×400, 1 mile c/d, w/400 m rest intervals
  • Thursday – 17.8 miles bike ride (15.0 mph): FIRST EARLY MORNING BIKE RIDE OF THE SEASON!!! Woop!
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim – 2800 m of awesome swimming! It felt so great to push myself in the pool and be back in that swimming environment with a group.
  • Saturday – GHS Centennial 1/2 Marathon! 1:44:21 – New PR! (by 18 seconds). Race report coming soon!
  • Sunday – OFF – travel day to Peoria

Totals:

  • Run = 25.64 miles (big week for me lately!)
  • Swim = 2800 yds. – YAY!
  • Bike = 17.8 miles

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, training, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Workout Log: February 27 – March 11

  1. Terzah says:

    Love that 1/2 marathon PR, Corey! Clearly taking the time off WAS a good thing. :^)

  2. Congrats on the half PR – glad you decided to run it 🙂 I’m still holding out that there’s a good chance you talked your friend into running it too…. And….congrats on winning my medal hanger giveaway! Perfect timing for you 🙂

  3. Lindsey says:

    Woohoo PR! That’s awesome!

  4. kudos on the PR!!!!!

    Ok so question, why is your track workout pace slower than progression run pace (is that the overall pace instead of your interval pace)? I’m working on picking up the speed, so just checking out what everyone is doing!

    • Corey says:

      That is the overall pace for the track workout, including rest intervals, warm-up, etc. From the Run Less, Run Faster plan, my 400’s are about 6:36, 800’s about 6:46, and mile repeats at 7:00.Of course, I am no shape to hit those paces anymore though!

  5. Laura says:

    Yay!! You got to run the race, and got a pr?! Can’t wait to read the report! I’m living through your runs right now… hope I’m back out there again soon. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

