Workout Log: March 12 – 25

I thought coming into these two weeks, that they would be tough to get in good workouts. I spent the whole first week in Peoria for some pretty intense training and didn’t have my normal access to a bike/pool/gym. Then we left on Wednesday of the second week for Cancun, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to run outside and wasn’t sure going in what the gym would be like. Surprisingly, I probably had two of the best weeks of workouts that I have had in a while! The great thing about vacation is that you have all the time in the world to do what you want, so I was able to get great workouts in every day!

March 12 – 18

  • Monday – Easy 5 mile run (8:51 min/mile). I didn’t look at my watch at all except around mile 3 to see how far I had been. It was awesome because my first mile was 9:35 and my last mile was 8:17! And I didn’t feel like my effort changed at all. I was a little more stiff after Saturday’s race than I thought, so this was a good effort to shake things out a little.
  • Tuesday – Early morning swim – 2000 yds. – I pushed harder than I normally do on my own, but still missed my Master’s Swim group.
  • Wednesday – 5:30 a.m. Body Attack at Gold’s Gym- Yay!! It’s back in my life, even if not at my gym at home!
  • Thursday – 6 miles speed work – 3×1 mile repeats w/0.5 mile rest: 7:11, 7:09, 7:04 – I wanted to keep it between my 5k and 10k pace and thought that would be challenging but not crazy hard, but these were TOUGH. I have no idea why I felt the need to push myself so hard when I am not really training for anything, but sometimes it just feels good to accomplish a tough workout.
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. spin OFF…decided to take a rest day, in anticipation of a big weekend of workouts! It was the right decision!
  • Saturday – Swim, Bike, Run – (2100 yds, 26 miles, 31 minutes/3.5 miles)
  • Sunday – Brick: 22 mile bike, including climbing Paris Mountain + 2 mile run (8:30 min/mile)
Totals:
  • Run = 16.5 miles
  • Swim = 4100 yds.
  • Bike = 48 miles (that’s a big week these days!)

March 19 – 25

  • Monday – 5:30 a.m. Master’s swim – 2500 yds + p.m. Upstate Tri Club Speed Workout (4.30 miles) – we tried a different group speed session this week, but unfortunately, only one other person (in addition to myself and 2 friends) showed up for the workout. With the urging of the other guy that came, Dave, we decided to do 4×800’s, although we were feeling sluggish and it was HOT (85*)! 3:17, 3:19, 3:17, 3:20
  • Tuesday – Early morning bike w/Char – 18.6 miles (15.3 mph) – loving pre-work rides!
  • Wednesday – 7.84 mile run w/Char (8:33 min/mile)
  • Thursday – 35 minutes elliptical + Tone-it Up Bikini Maxx Workout, courtesy of Amanda (total 2.5 miles running)
  • Friday – 6 mile DREADMILL run w/3 miles @ 7:47 tempo pace. Overall avg. 8:20 min/mile. I was absolutely dreading the treadmill workout, but I watched Shawshank Redemption on my iPad (love that movie) and sweated like crazy and the time went by pretty quickly. But definitely don’t expect to see me on the treadmill again for another 2 years…
  • Saturday – 30 minutes elliptical + 20 minutes stationary bike – planned to do some weights too, but  just didn’t feel like it so I stayed on the machines and took it easy!
  • Sunday – OFF – Travel back from Cancun

Totals:

  • Run = 20.64 miles (hit the goal!)
  • Swim = 2500 yds.
  • Bike = 18.6 miles

Cancun recap coming soon!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, training, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Workout Log: March 12 – 25

  1. Laura says:

    Some amazing workouts, indeed! You’re right, not being home can lead to more exercising sometimes. I love all your brick workouts… I want to incorporate more of those. Great job on the 3X1 mile interval workout, you were moving! I know what you mean about wondering why we push so hard with nothing to train for, but it’s definitely satisfying to hit those paces.

  2. Pingback: Cancun Part 1: Fun in the Sun! | Schnoodles of Fun!

  3. Pingback: Speed Session – For Real | Schnoodles of Fun!

  4. Pingback: Workout Log: March 26 – April 8 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.

  6. How many of you have a website on-line correct now? Ensure that your keywords are related
    to your blog subject. Do not frame our content onn your site or reproduce any part of it.
    https://friendfeed.com/sumitseojacksonville

Tell me what you think!

