Squirrel Hunt

Today is a big day! But I will be back later to talk all about these two people:

And their big day TODAY and all of the fun we had the last couple of days to celebrate them becoming Mr. & Mrs.

Right now, let’s talk about how I started my morning prior to a day full of hair, make-up, pictures and everything wedding related…

Walter and I went on a 6-mile progression run squirrel hunt.

It was important to me that I get up early and squeeze some sweaty miles into my day and what better motivation than a puppy who is starving for some loving after a few days of busy-ness (yes, that is a word)?!

We took off at 7:15, with no real agenda other than to get some miles in and hunt some squirrels. I started off slow, but I felt better as we went, so I picked it up 5-10 seconds every mile. Walter does really well on the leash for the first mile or so while we are on sidewalks on a busy-ish (yes, another word I created today) road. But as soon as make the turn into the neighborhood streets and then eventually into the park…nothing matters but the squirrels. He entertained himself pretending that if he could get off he would catch one while I got an arm/shoulder workout giving his collar a yank every two seconds. So win-win for me to get some strength training while I ran! I also kneed him in the ribs about 387 times when he tried to cross in front of me to go snuggle up to one of his squirrel friends.

We fought and got angry with each other and he gave me dirty looks after the knees then yearning looks like, “Please, Mom, don’t you see how many of them there are…just let me chase ONE!” And I yanked his collar and we ran on. In the end we both had the time of our lives doing exactly what we love and we will do it all over again as soon as we can!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, Greenville, life, running, the boys, walter, weekend fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Squirrel Hunt

  1. pennylovescharlie says:

    Aww Walter is so cute! The last time I tried to run with our dogs, my girl Penny laid down on the sidewalk after about a mile and a half and refused to move. They are so lazy! Ha.

  2. Laura says:

    I did almost the exact same 6 mile run this morning! 🙂

  3. Terzah says:

    This makes me wish I had a puppy to run with….

  4. Pingback: The Big Day: Jason & Alicia’s Wedding | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: Workout Log: March 26 – April 8 | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

