Trainer Success!

Per my gentle request (sarcasm), my lovely husband bought me a bike trainer for my birthday back in February. But since South Carolina (like almost everywhere else) had an early onset of spring weather, I have been able to ride outside since early March. This has been awesome, but as a result, my brand new trainer has been tucked away in a corner in the box it came in since the day I received it.

Yesterday, after a weekend of non-stop wedding madness, I missed the early ride-out in the mountains, and when I finally got up I had zero motivation to go ride by myself. Since the weather was so beautiful, I also couldn’t convince myself to spin or hit the pool. Of course, I was still laying on my couch debating these thoughts when my riding friends stopped by to grab a shower after their ride.

I was only semi-motivated by the fact that they had ridden 40 miles while I had done absolutely nothing but eat leftover Reese’s peanut butter hearts from Valentine’s Day all morning. After hearing me make up excuses and whine and complain about my lack of motivation, Char came up with a brilliant idea! She suggested I set up my trainer on the back porch in the sunshine and get some miles in while enjoying the weather. Win-Win!

Once they left, I set to work on assembling the trainer.

Of course this took me almost 2 hours to do because I am mechanically idiotic (and Brad was off playing golf). So by the time I got the thing assembled, I was already sweating, but extremely proud of myself!

Once I got it all assembled, I dragged it out to the porch, along with my iPad (and a Googled workout) and some Nuun and got in a solid 50 minute ride.

If you know anything about riding a bike on a trainer, you will notice that I don’t have a stand under my front wheel. Not only does this make the front of the bike a little wobbly, but it makes the bike sit on a downward incline, which is a bit awkward. I certainly wasn’t going to let that stop me from getting my sweat on though!

And man did I sweat! By the time I got on the bike, Brad was home and I had to yell at him to bring me a towel because I was sweating all over my iPad and it was dripping on my sunglasses!

As usual, after the workout, I felt like a new person! I finally undid the braid that was in my hair from the wedding and then proceeded to wash it THREE times to get all of the hairspray out!

I am super excited about having the trainer as an option to get a quick workout in from now on!

Anyone else ever use a trainer? Do you have any good workouts to share?

 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trainer Success!

  1. I really want a trainer!! for those rainy days or the winter – Maybe this can be a Christmas present this year –

    the only thing I did this weekend was the Cooper River Bridge Run – it was fun and the longest I’ve run since december (which is sad but oh well)

  2. Terzah says:

    Since I’m stuck on the recumbent ONLY, I have a lot of workouts for the bike I could share. My favorite for a long one is to warm up for 5-7 minutes, then do as many as I have time for of hard 5-minute intervals that get my heart rate up with a 1-min recovery between them, then cool down for 5 minutes. For shorter rides, I do 1.5 or 2.5 min intervals harder with 30 seconds recovery.

    Enjoy that trainer! And God your house looks clean. :^)

  3. Pingback: My Nuun Hood to Coast Relay Application | Schnoodles of Fun!

  4. Pingback: Workout Log: March 26 – April 8 | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

