Workout Log: March 26 – April 8

Back into the swing of things over the last couple of weeks after two weeks of workouts on the road. I guess tri training is in full effect because the two-a-days are showing up a lot lately! I still feel very sluggish and out of shape on the bike, but I am aiming to get 3+ bike workouts a week from now on and last summer that helped my bike fitness tremendously. Now that the weather is warm enough and there is enough light to ride any day I want, there aren’t many excuses! I just have to figure out a time when I am not travelling/busy on a weekend so that I can get some long rides in!

March 26 – April 1

  • Monday – Another two-a-day! 5:15 a.m. spin – 25.4 miles (I wish I could go that far in an hour on the road!) + p.m. Track Workout Alternating 5×400 w/ 5×200. Total: 4.81 miles. 400’s: 1:34, 1:32, 1:32, 1:30, 1:29; 200’s: 0:43, 0:42, 0:42, 0:42, 0:41
  • Tuesday – a.m. bike ride w/Char: 16.5 miles
  • Wednesday – Early HILLY 7.76 miles w/Char (8:39 min/mile) – we finally ran in the area our new gym. The route was a bit sketchy as we didn’t really know where we were going and we quickly discovered how hilly this area is!
  • Thursday – Can anyone say two-a-day?! 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim: 2800 yards + bike ride w/Jenny & Char 18.5 miles (all before work!)
  • Friday – 5 mile run OFF! I thought I would have time to get up and get a run in, but the (nervous) bride called at 7:45 a.m. and wanted to get started on our day of errands, shopping and everything wedding-related! As much as we ran around getting things done, I still felt like I got a pretty good workout for the day!
  • Saturday – 6 mile progression run w/Walter
  • Sunday – 50 minutes on the bike trainer. We’ll call it 13 miles.
Totals:
  • Run = 18.57 miles
  • Swim = 2800 yds.
  • Bike = ~73.4 (woohoo! Big week!)

April 2 – 8

  • Monday – 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim (slept in); Speedwork at the track: 6 miles
  • Tuesday – Two-a-day repeat from last Thursday: 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim 2800 yds. + a.m. Bike ride w/Char & Jenny 15.2 miles in 1 hr.
  • Wednesday – p.m. Master’s Swim 2250 yds. followed by Mexican food w/swim friends
  • Thursday – 9 mile run w/Char (8:39 min/mile) + a.m. Bike ride 17.8 miles (16.1 mph)
  • Friday – Insanity with Brad + easy 2 mile run with Walter to make it a 60 min workout total. Insanity is NO JOKE! Brad has been doing it for a week and I told him I would do it with him since I had the day off for Good Friday. I just THOUGHT I was in shape….this was a tough workout!
  • Saturday – Insanity w/Brad – wow! Much harder track today! I was sweating like CRAZY! So fun to work out together though!
  • Sunday – Run easy 5 miles in Marco Island (8:32 min/mile): Nice and easy run by feel, but definitely got faster as I ran. Love days when I run just for the love of it with no goals for time or distance!

Totals:

  • Run = 22 miles
  • Swim = 5,050 yds. (woohoo!)
  • Bike = 33 miles

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, family, Goals, running, swimming, training, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Workout Log: March 26 – April 8

  1. Laura says:

    Great two weeks, Corey! I love that you’re so consistent with your track workouts. When is your tri this summer? It will be fun to follow your tri training, as I think I only began following you in the fall.

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Laura! I am planning to do several sprint/olympic distance tri’s this summer. My schedule is kind of still up in the air, but the first one will probably be later this month or in May. I am also considering another 70.3 in October…just waiting to see what happens with NY Marathon lottery.

  2. Pingback: Blown Away | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

