TGIF

And even more importantly, Happy Friday the 13th! I know some people think this is an unlucky day, but 13 has always been my lucky number! It was my jersey # for softball as far back as I can remember and I always seemed to have great sports days on Friday the 13th. I can remember a particular regional swim meet my senior year in high school that was on Friday the 13th when I blew my best time out of the water (nice little pun there, huh?).

But TGIF because today has not started out so stellar for me. First I turned off my alarm and slept through my swim workout (seems to be a theme this week), then I burned 2 eggs  making breakfast, then somehow ended up with a purse-full of dog food as I was trying to take my boys to Doggie Day Care for the day. Hmph.

BUT, alas, today will be a good day regardless. Why? I am RACING tomorrow!

Yes, this is a recent development (as of Wednesday). Remember when I mentioned that I got free entries to a bunch of triathlons this summer? Well, this is one of those. The 5K fun run I was planning to do with some friends tomorrow was nixed which left my Saturday morning free. To have the opportunity to qualify for free entries again NEXT year, I have to compete in 6 races in the series. After a little schedule evaluation this week, I learned I needed to race this one because of schedule conflicts later.

The tri is a Super Sprint and is in Rock Hill, SC. What is Super Sprint?! Yeah, I asked the same thing. Does SUPER mean longer than a sprint or shorter?! Well, for this race it means shorter. A 250 m pool swim, 10 mile bike and 2 mile run. That’s SUPER short! And I am thinking it will be SUPER painful! But nonetheless, a good little intro into racing triathlon again after an entire fall and winter of only running.

I have done a total of 2 bricks (bike/run) so far this spring, which will definitely result in some wobbly legs off of the bike. And I am thinking that this little cold snap (after a ridiculously warm spring) will also make for a very chilly transition from the pool to the bike.

54* may be perfect running weather, but when you are soaking wet and jumping on a bike, it is frigid. I am definitely thinking about my transition/clothing strategy and how the heck I am going to keep from getting frostbitten on the bike. Okay, maybe that is an exaggeration, but brrr…

So there you have it! I have a heck of a day at work today to try to prepare for a big week of training next week but 8 hours from now I will be headed full force into the weekend!

Who else is racing this weekend? Or on Monday?!

Good luck Boston runners! I will be tracking/stalking you on Marathon Monday during my training breaks!

 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Races, running, swimming, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to TGIF

  1. Laura says:

    Ugh- hope your day gets better from here! Good luck on your tri super sprint, that does sound potentially painful. That’s why I avoided 5k’s for most of my early years of running. 🙂 But I’m running one tomorrow, so we can push hard together and I’ll think of you when I want to quit!

  2. Meredith says:

    Hey Corey-I like your blog! I started getting into triathlons about six months ago…I have been running for the last ten years but haven’t swam since college and biking, never…
    I don’t really know what in the hell I am doing but I am signed up for a 70.3 in September…Hoping you can help me in the journey along the way 🙂 have a great weekend, Meredith

    • Corey says:

      Hi Meredith!! That’s so exciting! Which 70.3 did you sign up for? I only started doing tri’s about 2 summers ago and last summer was the first year I did it for a whole season. Fortunately I have a few friends who have been able to walk me through all of my questions! I would love to help you any way I can and maybe you can help me as you learn too!

      • mery says:

        I am doing the Redman in OKC….ONe of my old teammates from swimming has a tri team in Kansas City so she has been doing my weekly training plans, etc and answering a lot of my questions…..Hope you had a good race this weekend 🙂

  3. Terzah says:

    Ooh, good luck tomorrow, Corey! And have fun! I like the idea of a “super sprint.” It’s a good test but low pressure.

  4. hope it was a great race!! and I love the 13th too, i figure i was born on a 13th so it’s all good!

  5. Pingback: BMW Super Sprint Tri | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

