BMW Super Sprint Tri

Remember when I said I was racing a Super Sprint Triathlon last weekend? Well, I did it! And guess what?! I got first place female! (It was a VERY small race).

Writing the race recap was delayed until now because I spent the day after the race preparing for a special evening for a friend (more on that later) and then traveled to Peoria, IL on Sunday for a fun-filled (sarcasm) week of training for work! All that time and I still don’t have pics! Those will (hopefully) come later.

Race Eve

I spent the evening before the race getting my bike cleaned up and everything ready for the next day. It has been a while since I raced a triathlon, so I had to do some brainstorming to remember everything I needed!

Since I was leaving Sunday, for dinner, I cooked all of the vegetables left in my refrigerator (spinach, broccoli, green beans) and threw them into some pasta with olive oil. After chatting with my neighbors for a bit, I ended up staying up past 11 p.m.! Why do I always do this before races?!

Race Morning

The alarm went off at 4:45, I got dressed, packed the car and was out the door by 5:15, with Nuun and messy bagel w/almond butter & honey in hand. I freaked out a little on the way there because I kept watching the temps drop as I went further north. By the time I got to Rock Hill, at about 6:45 ( for the 8:00 a.m. start), my car thermometer read 45*!!

I easily grabbed my race packet from registration. Since I was registered late, I ended up with bib #56…which meant starting 56th for the pool swim!! I found the race director (who has now become a buddy) and convinced him to move me up so I ended up starting #3.

I got my transition area set up quickly and like the good blogger that I am, I grabbed my camera to take a pic. And like the bad blogger that I am…my camera was dead. So no pic.

I waited until the absolute last minute to warm-up so that I wouldn’t have to stand around freezing. I did a 400 m. warm-up in the super-warm-old-lady-pool, then finally, they let people in the regular pool so I hopped over there and did another 100 to get acclimated to the cooler water.

At the pre-race meeting they said they were pushing the start back a little so that the temps would be over 50*. This gave me a little more time to make sure my goggles would stay on since they were allowing a diving start.

The Swim: 250 m

I felt good and it went by quickly. Both the #2 guy and I passed the girl who started first within the first 150 m, then at the final turn I passed the #2 guy. By the time I got to the ladder to get out, the guy who started #5 had caught up and all three of us climbed out of the pool at the same time.

I looked at my watch when I got out and it said 3:20. A little quick math told me that was 1:20/100 m which I wasn’t entirely unhappy with, considering doing all the flip turns under the lane ropes, but I know I should be going faster in such a short race.

Including the time to get out of the pool area and across the parking lot to the swim finish, my official swim time was 3:35. 3rd overall, 1st female.

T1 – 1:11

This could quite possibly be my slowest T1 ever! I decided before the race that I would put on gloves and a long sleeve zip-up jersey because it was so cold. It took me forever to get them on and I didn’t even end up zipping the jersey because I already had the gloves on and didn’t want to fumble with it. In the end I am sure I would have been fine without both, but I was definitely glad to have them.

The Bike: 10 Miles

I pushed really hard from the start, telling myself that this short race is supposed to hurt. I rode on my “big ring” and focused on keeping the cadence around 95 rpm.

At about 2.5 miles, I saw a turn arrow painted on the road. I thought the race was a straight out-and-back so at the intersection, I pointed to the right and yelled to the cop, “Turn?” he nodded yes, so I did. Then as I turned, he yelled “You are supposed to go straight!” Huh? I was confused, but I slowed way down, went around a car and turned around to get back on the course. I doubt it cost me a ton of time, maybe 20-30 seconds? But it definitely was a momentum killer!

As my Garmin hit 5-miles, just before the turn around, I realized I hadn’t drank anything yet and took a sip of Nuun. As I reached down to put the bottle back in the cage, it slipped a little, so I glanced down to make sure I got it in all the way and when I looked back up, I was veering off of the road. I was super wobbly and on the gravel patch on the outside of the shoulder, then all of a sudden was up a driveway and onto the grass. I gripped my handles tightly and just kept repeating, “Don’t crash. Don’t crash. Don’t crash.” Finally, I was under control again on the grass and slowed down enough that I could unclip from the pedals, get off the bike and roll it off the curb and onto the road again. Finally, I hopped back on, clipped in and was on my way! My adrenaline was sky-high and I was just so glad that I didn’t crash that I wasn’t even concerned about the time I lost!

I finally made the turn around and rode hard back to the finish. The last 5 miles were *thankfully* uneventful! I did notice after the turnaround that the 2nd place female wasn’t super far behind me though.

My Garmin read that the course was a little long (10.2 miles) and that I averaged 20.2 mph, but I think it also probably stopped the time when I stopped with the near crash.

Official time: 30:57 (19.4 mph), 9th overall, 1st female.

T2 – 0:31

Much better transition in T2!

The Run: 2 miles

When I got off of the bike, my legs felt extremely wobbly, as they always do for the first 100 yards or so. My feet were numb from the cold and I felt like I was sprinting, but once I settled in, I felt pretty good. I don’t use a Garmin for short races, but I knew that I was keeping a solid pace. The route was a flat out-and-back and the two miles went by very quickly. I was surprised at how strong I felt, despite my lack of bricks this spring.

I did a little check on the 2nd female by noting my time at the turn around to see roughly how far behind me she was. I knew I had to beat her by a minute because she started a minute behind me in the pool. I passed her around 1:30 after the turn around, so I knew that if she was keeping my pace (or slower), I had at least 3 minutes on her.

I pushed hard to the finish and before I knew it, I came back up on the start/finish/pool/transition area and was in the chute!

Official time: 13:37  (6:49 min/mile), 8th overall, 1st female.

Overall time: 49:53, 7th overall, 1st female.

I am obviously super happy I won and I am very glad I raced to get the bugs out for more races coming up this summer. I definitely think I should be going faster in the pool and on the bike for such a short race, so I will probably try to include some TT’s and sprints/tempos into upcoming workouts. I am especially excited about the run time! I definitely think I could have kept that pace for another mile to make it a 5k around 21 min. (which maybe means I didn’t push hard enough?).

Next race: maybe a duathlon this weekend?! Otherwise, a “regular” sprint on May 5th!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Race reports, Races, running, swimming, triathlon, weekend fun, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to BMW Super Sprint Tri

  1. Laura says:

    So impressive, Corey! I love that you got 1st place! That’s an awesome run and bike pace, and I know nothing about swimming, except that you would have blazed past me. 🙂 Awesome way to kick off the tri season!

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Laura! I think we managed to have the EXACT same pace for our races last weekend? Is that right? Maybe we should be virtual training partners and pick a half or a full around the same time!

  2. SO excited for you!!! I love smaller races- especially at the beginning of the season! Congrats on your WIN!!!

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Holly! Most of the races in this series that I do are pretty small so it is a nice little ego boost until I go get a reality check at a real race every once in a while! Can’t wait to hear about your adventures on your new tri bike soon!!

  3. Congratulations! This is amazing and so inspiring!

  4. Wow!! You rocked this thing! You are my hero for being able to kick butt at a tri! I can barely ride a bike and usually swim by doggy paddling!!!

  5. Terzah says:

    THAT is so cool! I’m sorry I’m just now reading this. Congratulations, and what a confidence booster. I think you have a fantastic and fun summer ahead of you.

  6. Pingback: Workout Log: April 9 – 22 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  7. Pingback: Workout Log: April 9 – 22 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  8. Pingback: Tri the Rock Sprint Triathlon | Schnoodles of Fun!

  9. Pingback: Middle Tyger YMCA Sprint Triathlon | Schnoodles of Fun!

  10. Pingback: 2012 Half-Way Goal Check |

Tell me what you think!

