Workout Log: April 9 – 22

The theme for the first week and a half was definitely sleeping in! I slept through several morning workouts, but (for the most part) was able to make them up later. And I did redeem myself with 3 early morning sweat sessions in a row at the end of the second week. It definitely was a little hectic with the second week being in Peoria for training and not having my normal access to gyms/pools/bikes etc. I am sooo looking forward to having a weekend at home with nothing going on next weekend!

April 9 – 15

  • Monday – Insanity in the morning w/Brad before leaving Marco Island. I had plans to hit up the same track workout as last week but I missed my flight and didn’t get home until late Monday night.
  • Tuesday – 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim + morning bike ride w/the girls. Um, I proceeded to sleep in and blow off both of these workouts. Fail! Fortunately I was still able to get the ride in after work w/Jesse and some of the guys. 30 miles (18.4 mph)
  • Wednesday – 19 mile bike after work (17.3 mph) + 6:30 p.m. Master’s Swim (make-up from Tuesday!) – 2100 yds.
  • Thursday – pre-work 9.17 mile run w/ Char (8:31 min/mile) – I was feeling the rides from the previous 2 days! Dead Legs!
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim Sleeping-in and skipping workouts was kind of a theme this week…
  • Saturday – BMW Super Sprint Triathlon (250 m. swim, 10 mile bike, 2 mile run) + 550 m warm-up swim
  • Sunday – 5.07 easy miles in the rain when I got to Peoria (8:29 min/mile)
Totals:
  • Run = 16.24 miles
  • Swim = 2975 yds.
  • Bike = 59 miles

April 16 – 22

  • Monday – 45 minute spin after work (15.7 miles)
  • Tuesday – Swim after work 2500 yds.
  • Wednesday – 5:30 a.m. Body Attack! Finally a morning workout! I felt so much more focused and energized throughout the day after getting a solid sweat session in before work!
  • Thursday – 7.5 mile run before work (8:12 min/mile) – Two early morning workouts in a row! I pushed hard on this run to get in as many miles I could before I had to cool down and get ready. This is a solid effort for this distance for me.
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. spin class (19.2 miles). Make that 3 early mornings in a row! Wow, was this a sweat-fest! The floor around my bike was covered in sweat!
  • Saturday – OFF – In Lynchburg with the fam and wasn’t able to squeeze anything in.
  • Sunday – Run 5.75 miles w/Walter – So glad to get a run in after we got back from Virginia! It was nice after a weekend of doing nothing!

Totals:

  • Run = 13.25 miles (oops! Low week)
  • Swim = 2500 yds.
  • Bike = 34.9 miles

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Races, running, swimming, training, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workout Log: April 9 – 22

  1. Laura says:

    I love that you are also a low milage runner. I keep thinking i need to up my miles but I’ve been able to run some strong (for me) races with lots of biking, and it’s reassuring to know that it works for you too! That’s a solid 7.5 mile run- strong pace!

    • Corey says:

      I am trying to keep up 20 miles a week when I am not “training”. That is pretty big for me actually, because even during marathon training I never got to 40 miles. I think I will *try* to up my mileage during the next training cycle, but I just don’t feel great running every day!

Tell me what you think!

