Anticipation…

Whew, it’s been kind of crazy around here! Let’s get caught up!

Last Week:

I was in Illinois all last week for a training course and it is a pretty intense class, so at the end of the day, my mind needs a break from thinking. In the evenings I turn off my brain and therefore blogging just doesn’t happen.

I did not race the duathlon on Saturday. My class ended up getting finished a little early Friday and thanks to Delta I was able to get on an earlier flight. Since I was back at 3:30 Friday afternoon (instead of 9:30 that night), I decided to drive up to Virginia that evening instead of waiting until the next morning after the race. My parents were in Lynchburg, helping my grandpa move from one apartment in his retirement community into another one for more assisted living. The dogs and I made the 4+ hour drive and met Brad up there to spend the weekend with my parents and celebrate my Dad’s birthday!

Side note: My Grandpa lives in the most amazing facility that I would compare to a college campus for “older” people. It is awesome and there is so much to do there (Wii tournaments, pool tournaments, cards games, Bingo, etc.). My grandpa has tons of friends that he has known since high school  and he loves it! There is even a bar right inside the facility!

On the way back from Lynchburg yesterday, we stopped in to Smith Mountain Lake to see Brad’s parents and check out the renovations they are doing on their lake house. They have had some contractor frustrations, but the house is going to look amazing…soon!

The dogs did really well in the hotels this weekend and they ride great in the car, but since Brad and I were driving separately, needless to say, we were all very happy to be home last night! Plus, after not getting any workouts in all weekend, I was happy to squeeze in a 5.75 mile progression run with Walter last night. My legs felt super fresh and speedy after a few days of rest!

This Week:

One of the things that has been on my mind the most over the last couple of weeks is the BIG ANNOUNCEMENT that will be made tomorrow! Nuun will announce the names of the bloggers that they have chosen for their 3 Hood to Coast Teams. I am beyond anxious, but have also been trying not to get my hopes up too much. I know this isn’t the most positive attitude, but this would be an amazing opportunity and I will be super disappointed if it doesn’t work out for me. There are so many amazing runners/bloggers who have submitted the most awesome creative applications (see mine here) and I know that there is a very strong likelihood that I will not be chosen. But, (deep breath), I will be checking diligently obsessively tomorrow and will obviously be very excited for and supportive of those ladies who do get chosen, regardless!

Then the day after that is another BIG ANNOUNCEMENT! Back in January, I applied for the lottery for the ING New York Marathon. The lottery will occur and the selections will be announced at noon on Wednesday! I am excited to find out if this is the year I will be running in NYC in November! If I don’t get in this year, I will apply again next year and then would be guaranteed the year after if I don’t get in 2 years in a row.

I don’t know if I can take all this anticipation!

Fortunately the rest of the week will be low key. Brad and I will both be home for the next TWO weeks/weekends without any travel. This is a record!! We haven’t had 2 weeks at home together since, um, December or maybe January?!

I hope everyone is having a great start to the week! How was your weekend? Did you run, race, spend time with family, travel? Anyone else anxiously anticipating announcements or news this week?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Ernie, family, Hood to Coast, life, Races, running, the boys, the lake, Travel, walter, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Anticipation…

  1. Terzah says:

    I hope it works out for you for both races!

    And your grandpa’s residence sounds great. I hope my husband and I can find something that nice when we’re at that stage in life.

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Terzah! I wonder how many of these places like that are around? It seems strange that this one is in Lynchburg, VA of all places. Its a pretty small town. I certainly wouldn’t mind spending my final years in such a social environment!

  2. Good luck!!!!! I didn’t even try out for either and I can’t wait to see who gets in each 🙂

  3. Meredith says:

    Good luck with the lottery..I entered the NYC Tri lottery but didn’t get it this last year 😦

  4. Laura says:

    I just saw the good news about Hood to Coast… congrats!!! I’m so excited for you– can’t wait to hear all about your experience!!

  5. Pingback: Grateful | Schnoodles of Fun!

  6. Pingback: Final Thoughts on Hood to Coast |

  7. Pingback: Good News & Bad News |

Tell me what you think!

