Tri The Rock – Quick Goals

Happy Friday! It’s even happier for me because I am RACING tomorrow! I am doing the Tri the Rock Sprint Triathlon which is also part of the Y Tri Series that I race in fairly often.

I won’t go into too much detail, since it’s a short race, but I wanted to quickly talk about my goals for tomorrow. I like to put targets out there to hold myself accountable and then to check back and see how I did!

Swim: 400 m – 1:20/100m or better. It’s tough in a pool where you have to do every other flip turn under the lane ropes, but I should be able to swim this pace or I am probably not pushing hard enough for a sprint. (5:20 total)

Bike: 15 miles – 20+ mph. This is almost always my goal for these short races. It’s tough because by the time you get really warmed up, it is almost over, but there is really no reason on a course that has no big climbs that I shouldn’t be able to average over 20 mph. (45:00 total)

Run: 5k – sub – 21:10 I want to average just under 6:50 min/mile, which would basically tie my best 5k (which was also in a triathlon). I won’t have my Garmin and my feel for pace after riding is always whacky so I will just push as hard as I can and see how it turns out!

I have appropriately tapered for the race by running 22 miles and riding about 90 miles in the last week 🙂 It is only a sprint, after all!

Good luck to everyone else racing this weekend!

P.S. Thanks for the comments on my Finding Balance Post. I think I have done a little better as the week has gone on, but I still find myself slipping into that “social media funk” every now and then throughout the day. Funny enough, I also got a (form) email from our company’s healthcare provider with this article. VERY timely.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tri The Rock – Quick Goals

  1. Good luck!!!! I know you’ll do great! Yikes – running after the bike without a Garmin would be scary 🙂

    • Corey says:

      haha! It is, but there really isn’t enough time to get it on and get satellites before you basically are half way done, so I have kind of gotten used to it. I wear a “regular” watch, but the courses usually don’t have mile markers, so I never know where I am!!

  2. bearrunner says:

    Nova Scotia Canada… The ocean is still cold up here in August!

    cheers

  3. Laura says:

    Go get another first place age group award! 🙂 I just jumped into a 5k tomorrow, but it’s going to be HOT so I’m not expecting much. Should be fun!

    • Corey says:

      Woohoo! I feel a PR + age group win coming for you too! GOOD LUCK!! The heat makes you warm up and run faster (at least that is what you can tell yourself) 🙂

  4. GOOD LUCK!! I have wanted to try a tri–the swimming turns me off b/c I suck at it!

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Jess! I love multi-sport training because I seem to have less injuries, etc. What about a Duathlon? Any of those in your area? They aren’t too common around here, but there are a few.

Tell me what you think!

