Workout Log: April 23 – May 6

It was great to have two weeks back-to-back with no travel. I was really able to get some quality time on the bike and I am finally starting to feel MUCH stronger in the saddle. After a heavy week of training the first week (compared to what I have been doing), I have to admit I was having some aches and pains that worry me as I continue to ramp up training this summer. I definitely am trying to be smart about listening to my body…but I haven’t been very good at that in the past!

April 23 – 29

  • Monday – Speed work w/Upstate Tri Club – 5.30 miles, including 1-mile TT (6:15 min/mile)
  • Tuesday – p.m. bike ride at Donaldson 27.5 miles (18.8 mph)
  • Wednesday – 7.45 HILLY miles w/Char before work (8:38 min/mile) + p.m. ride 14.64 miles (16.6 mph)
  • Thursday – early morning brick – 14.15 miles (16.2 mph) + 2.12 mile run (8:28 min/mile)
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim OFF. Early morning workout fail.
  • Saturday – Wheels for Meals Metric Century – 62 miles (18.2 mph)
  • Sunday – Run 7.26 miles (8:10 min/mile)
Totals:
  • Run = 22.25 miles
  • Swim = 0 yds. (yikes!)
  • Bike = 118 miles (woohoo!!)
  • Time**: 9 hrs. 50 min.

**I am starting to track time because it is something that I tracked as I trained for my 70.3 last year and as I ramp up into tri season, I want keep track again.

April 30 – May 6

  • Monday – Upstate Tri Club Speed Workout: 5 miles – 2 mile w/up, 1000 (4:08), 800 (3:17), 600 (2:), 400 (1:32), 200 (00:43), 200 (00:42) w/200 m rest intervals. Started with the idea that I was going to take it easy after a 7 mile run Sunday and a little hip soreness, but it was hard not to push to keep up with the group, so I went harder than I planned and nursed (iced, foam rolled, stretched) my sore hip after
  • Tuesday – a.m. brick: 16.5 mile ride (16.3 mph) + 1.75 mile run (8:30 min/mile)
  • Wednesday – p.m. Open water swim at Lake Hartwell – 2400 m
  • Thursday – Early morning 8.4 mile run (8:45 min/mile) + 14.5 mile bike (16.2 mph)
  • Friday – OFF
  • Saturday – Tri the Rock Sprint Triathlon – 500 m swim (+400 m w/u), 18 mile bike, 2.95 mile run (race report coming soon!)
  • Sunday – 35 Easy Trainer Ride
Totals:
  • Run = 18.15
  • Swim = 3300 m
  • Bike = ~60 miles
  • Time = 7 hrs.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Races, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workout Log: April 23 – May 6

  1. Laura says:

    You’re getting in some awesome speed workouts. So speedy!! Can’t wait to hear your tri recap!

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Laura! It helps having someone who actually “coaches” us at our track workouts now. I feel super lucky to have access to that. Congrats again on the sub-21:00! I haven’t gotten a chance to read your recap yet, but looking forward to it!

Tell me what you think!

