Tri the Rock Sprint Triathlon

I am not sure how this has worked out, but I have raced 3 times in the last 3 months and every single time, I have left the next day to travel to IL for work. As a result, my race reports have suffered! I am finally getting around to write this, in chunks, during breaks and over lunch.

Race Eve

Friday evening was very low key. After I washed my bike and packed my race stuff, I made seared tuna, baked sweet potatoes and steamed veggies and Brad and I had a quiet evening at home.

Race Morning

The morning started off very uneventful. I was up at 4:45 and out of the door by 5:10 for my 1:20 drive to Rock Hill. I was NOT looking forward to the drive, but just turned the music up and zoned out.

I set my cruise control just below 80, when the speed limit was 70 on I-85, but neglected to drop it down after the speed limit dropped to 65. Aaand then, I passed the cop sitting in the dark as I came over a hill. *&$^#%&*@! Of course, right after I passed him, he pulled out and eventually he turned on his lights before pulling me over. He didn’t even ask why I was speeding, where I was going or why I had a bike on my car and was dressed to race at 5:45 in the morning?! I thought for sure he would have a little sympathy for me trying to get to my race on time at this ungodly hour on a Saturday. Nope. He just told me I was speeding, collected my license and registration then gave me an $81 ticket. He said he was doing me a favor by dropping my clocked speed from 79 to 74 so that I wouldn’t have to pay as much. Sure, dude.

I was a bit stressed after getting the ticket. Both because I was worried about being late (and of course NOW I couldn’t speed to get there) and because I was just pissed that I got the ticket! As I was sitting on the side of the road after I got the ticket I tweeted…

I SO wish I would have seen Marlene and Ricole’s responses before the race, because they both assured me that it meant that it was actually an omen that I was supposed to go FAST today…in my car and on my feet!

I ended up getting to the race about 15 minutes later than I would have liked, but I still had plenty of time to get checked in, marked, transition set up and warm-up in the pool.

My Transition Area

I also had time to find out at the pre-race meeting that the swim was NOT 400 m as advertised, but 500 m. AND that the bike was NOT 15 miles, but 18 miles. Seriously?! It really isn’t that big of a deal, but they could have advertised it on the website or sent an email just so people were prepared. I heard some of the tri-newbies freaking out a little over it. I would have definitely done the same if it were my first race! I quickly mentally re-thought my fueling on the bike so I could account for a little over 10 minutes extra total race time.

Swim

I am REALLY glad this is the last pool swim of the tri season. I started 7th on the swim and no matter how much I tell myself to go out easy, I always, always go out too hard in a pool. There is something about swimming up and back in lanes that makes it feel like it should be a sprint. At about 100 m, my feet were tingling and I could was already fatigued so I let up a little and just tried to get into a smooth rhythm. For me, smooth = fast, but I never felt like I settled in. At halfway, I got clobbered by a guy trying to pass another guy ahead of me, then I got tangled up with 2 other guys on the last 100 when we were trying to pass the guy who started 5th. I was still pretty happy with my overall time, which was just over my goal of 1:20/100m.

500 m: 7:01 (1:24/100 m); 1st female, 2nd overall

(this was the time that was on my watch after I got out of the pool and does not include the time from the pool to the entrance of transition, which is another 13 seconds)

T1 – 42 seconds

Bike

I was out of breath and felt like I just couldn’t push hard enough for the first 11 miles. I guess I finally got warmed-up right about 11.5, because after that I felt strong, like I could push hard and stay in a heavier gear. The course was a surprisingly hilly out-and-back and the way back in was deceivingly harder than the way out. Miles 11-15 were actually the slowest, even though that is when I felt the strongest.

I kept thinking as I climbed that I should have been out of the saddle and fighting up the hills, but I couldn’t convince myself to do it. I just stayed seated and dropped the gear. I don’t think I have really developed the ability to suffer on the bike that I have on the run. I suppose it comes from experience?

I am still extremely happy (and a little surprised) by my overall bike split.

18 miles: 52:46 (20.5 mph); 1st female, 14th overall

T2 – 28 seconds

As I ran out of transition, the race director told me that I wouldn’t win (spoiler: I was first place female at this point) if I didn’t pass at least one guy on the run. OF COURSE I wanted to chick some dude, so I was definitely up for that challenge.

It took almost a whole mile for my legs to shake-out and feel “normal” after the bike. I pushed hard, but tried to find a pace that I could maintain. I quickly saw a guy up ahead that I wanted to catch but it wasn’t long before I realized that he was getting further and further away. I was pushing, but I knew I wasn’t running sub-7:00’s.

From BMW Race in April

Then as I came up on the half-way point, I saw an arrow on the ground  indicating a turn into a neighborhood. I KNEW there was no turn here, but there were no volunteers telling us where to go, so my body just reacted and I turned left. I got all the way down a small hill and into the neighborhood before I realized that this was DEFINITELY not right and I headed back out of the neighborhood and to the turnaround point.

After that I felt sort of defeated. I knew that additional distance would keep me from meeting my time goal and I had already miscalculated what time I left transition, so I was already thinking that my pace was in the mid-7’s. I spent the next 1/2 a mile without much  motivation. I just wanted to be done and didn’t feel like pushing myself. Eventually I heard the music of the finish area and I summoned up a little motivation to push through the finish.

After the race, people who had GPS watches said the run course was only 2.85 miles but I estimate that I ran roughly an additional 0.1 miles in my little detour.

I am disappointed in my run time because I would definitely like to see it under 7. I am also disappointed that I mentally gave up for a little bit when I didn’t think I would meet my goal. I usually find that I can push myself way beyond what is comfortable in this distance and I definitely didn’t dig deep and do that Saturday.

2.95 miles: 20:55 (7:05 min/mile); 1st female, 11th overall

Overall time: 1:22:07; 1st female, 12th overall

I did end up getting 1st place female and fortunately Jim (the race director) still “let me” win the race, even though I passed no guys 🙂

This pic was actually from the race 3 weeks ago (in the same location), but cute Jamie on my right also go 3rd in this race too! I seriously wish I didn’t look like such a tool up there…

I will also add (in case you were wondering) there were only 30 women and 70 people total in the race. I will definitely enter some bigger races and get a reality check of how I rank soon!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Race reports, Races, running, swimming, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tri the Rock Sprint Triathlon

  1. Terzah says:

    You are so on a roll! And you do NOT look like tool. Congratulations, Corey!

  2. pennylovescharlie says:

    I also do not think you look like a tool. You look awesome, because you are!

  3. WOW Corey!! You are killing it! CONGRATULATIONS!! I love your running photo: intense, focused, confident.

  4. meredith says:

    Corey, you do look like such a tool!!!!! hehehehehe just kidding bewtums, way to go!!!

  5. Laura says:

    You did amazing– you would have flew past me in the pool, and that bike time is incredible! As for running, I can’t imagine holding a 7 minute pace after an hour of hard work– you totally earned your position in first place!

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Laura! And honestly…it is surprising that when running after swimming and biking how “fast” you actually can run. It seems like it would be harder, but I think being warmed up (and knowing you are almost done) actually helps!

  6. You’re just awesome! You keep crushing it, way to go!!! I can’t believe the detour on the run – how stressful….yet, you seemed to do okay even with that 🙂 Congratulations!

    • Corey says:

      Thanks Beth! It WAS super stressful. I was so mad at myself…hence just losing my mental toughness completely at that point! But when I found out the course was short anyway…I was kind of glad I had a detour to make it a little closer to the “real” distance!

  7. Pingback: Workout Log: April 23 – May 6 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  8. Pingback: Another Race? | Schnoodles of Fun!

  9. Pingback: Middle Tyger YMCA Sprint Triathlon | Schnoodles of Fun!

  10. Pingback: 2012 Half-Way Goal Check |

Tell me what you think!

