5 Things

Happy Tuesday! Not much groundbreaking (or blog worthy) has happened since my 5k on Saturday. We traveled home from Michigan, got upgraded to first class (woohoo Delta frequent flyer!), I ate a ton of sugar and then slept through what should have been a workout yesterday morning.

So today, I bring you 5 (random) things…some running related and some completely not.

  1. New shoes! Or new Brooks Pure Cadence running shoes, to be exact. I have had my eye on these for a while. I tried them on, did some research, wavered for a while, then finally ordered them a couple of weeks ago. And they came…the day after I left for a week long trip. Fail! I was itching to try them out and finally had the chance last night at our Monday night track workout. Since they are a minimalist shoe (4mm drop), I am transitioning slowly into them and only did my 1 1/2 mile warm-up and 1 mile cool down in them. The verdict so far: I am in love.
  2. Bachelorette – Yes, I am absolutely one of those people who likes trashy tv and gets into the drama that is the Bachelor/Bachelorette. Last night began Emily Maynard’s season and I so look forward to my date night with Alicia every Monday night to watch! It is as much about spending time with one of my best girlfriends as it is about watching the show. We have very lively commentary through the show and it is a blast!
  3. Hunger Games Obviously I am a million years late to this one. I was a huge skeptic of the series and whether I would like a dysterian themed novel. I just kept saying, “It’s not my thing.” Finally, after a friend with similar taste in books recommended it and some co-workers wouldn’t stop talking about it, I jumped on the bandwagon. And oh my goodness, am I hooked! I read the first book in a day last Sunday when I was traveling to IL and have since finished the second and half of the third books. 
  4. Haircut – I am embarrassed to say this publish this on the internet, but I haven’t had a haircut since before Thanksgiving. I don’t really have a good reason, other than I am just too lazy to make an appointment and go. I have long, straight, thin hair and I can usually manage without a haircut for a while, but since it just lays there flat with no shape and gets matted up when I ride or run without braiding it, I figure it is about that time. I have an appointment Thursday and most likely 99.9% of the people in my life won’t even be able to tell I cut it afterwards.
  5. Nuun Discount Code – Last, but absolutely not least, I have a discount code for all of you to use on your next Nuun purchase! You all know how much I love Nuun and I absolutely recommend it to stay hydrated while running, riding, or any other workout (or to mix with vodka as a recovery drink). Use “bloggerslovenuun” to get 15% off of your order online at shop.nuun.com. Also, stay tuned because I will be have a fun Nuun giveaway soon!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, life, running, training, triathlon, workout clothes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 5 Things

  1. Tri Madness says:

    (hanging head in shame) I’m one of those that likes the Bachelorette too! My wife can’t stand that time of show, but to me it’s just wonderful, mindless entertainment. 🙂 Like the new shoes!

  2. Terzah says:

    Don’t you love new shoes? I love the way my new Brooks PureFlows felt, too. Today my calves are sore, but that probably has more to do with, um, not running for two months than with the shoes. I’m glad I have injury-recovery runs to help me get used to them.

    Totally sold on The Hunger Games trilogy here. I *never* stay up late reading anymore, but I did with all of those books.

    • Corey says:

      I saw that you ran in your Pure Flows this week too! I tried those on and LOVED them too. But I need a little more stability and the Cadence has that. I sat in a park in my car today at lunch with my Subway sandwich and book #3 🙂 I will finish it by tomorrow, I am guessing!

  3. Caroline says:

    Bacherolette….I am in also and so is my husband!! I have watched all seasons of Bachelor and Bacherolette!! yep! I am still resisting Hunger Games AND Twilight!!!!

    • Corey says:

      I wish I could get my husband to watch it! He wants nothing to do with it! (Although he did watch Ali’s season with me). I thought I wouldn’t like Twilight either and I loved it too. I will say Hunger Games ranks over Twilight all the way though!

  4. Laura says:

    So curious how you like your Pure Flows! I want to try them again– my first try was after a big running week and my Achilles weren’t happy from the extra work. I still haven’t read the Hunger Games, so you’re not the last one. 🙂

    • Corey says:

      I actually got the Pure Cadence because I need more of a stability shoe (I was in Adrenaline’s before) and the Cadence has more support than the Flow. So far so good, but I not doing more than a mile or two at a time until I adjust a little. I will probably write about them when I have more of a chance to adjust. I highly recommend the books…finished #3 today!

  5. Christina says:

    I accidentally caught the Bachelorette season premiere *ugh* and now I fear I am trapped into that disaster. Is it me or are all the Bachelors unattractive Metros??? And she totally has NO personality. I think she’s an alien. I’m reading Hunger Games but haven’t had enough time lately to breeze through it 😦

    • Corey says:

      haha. It is kind of a train wreck that you can’t look away from. I was completely disgusted by the cheesiness of 90% of the guys on Monday, but there were a few that could be ok. I also am thinking she has zero personality, so I am interested to see if we actually see more as the season goes on….

  6. XLMIC says:

    Okay…I’ve never seen Bachelor or Bachelorette. I still haven’t read Hunger Games (or seen the movie). And the last time I cut my hair I did it myself with a pair of kitchen shears last summer… I do that every so often. It always comes out badly…but whatever 😛 Yeah…I’m kind of a dork.

  7. It took me forever to jump on the Hunger Games bandwagon too, but once I did, I couldn’t believe what I was missing 🙂

Tell me what you think!

