Weekend Training Plans

I must say that I am BEYOND excited that it is Friday! It has been a long and frustrating work week and I am ready to replace my feelings of work-derived crabbiness with some sweat-induced endorphins!

We have had a crazy spring of traveling so I cherish anytime that I have the weekend, in its entirety, at home. No late return Friday night from a week on the road or jetting out Sunday afternoon for a work trip.

Of course, my weekend will be centered around getting nice and sweaty with some solid training plans. And while I am not really technically training for anything, I have my eye on some things in the fall that I will register for talk about soon.

First on tap…a Saturday morning run with a NEW RUNNING BUDDY! I met Elizabeth on St. Patty’s Day when she was heading out to ride from the Y parking lot at the same time we were and jumped in with us to ride. I ran with her after because who was I to let someone go on a run ALONE?! We chatted, hit it off and exchanged numbers. We haven’t been in contact since that day because she was training for White Lake 70.3, which she rocked two weeks ago, and I have been crazy busy. When Elizabeth texted me this morning about my running plans for the weekend, I was super excited to have a buddy for a double digit run in the morning.

I have been hovering around 8-9 miles for my “long runs” and haven’t been 10+ since my last half marathon, so I am BEYOND excited to start to ramp up the mileage in upcoming months!

********************************

Sunday, I will be joining a local women’s cycling group for a community ride.

I have ridden with the ladies from Every Woman in an informal ride and they were really great. Sunday’s ride is a 35 mile “Come With Me” open community ride. There are A, B, C1 & C2 groups and I will probably try to jump in at the front of the B group so I don’t get split off from the “faster” people who I will be trying to keep up with.

 After the ride, there will be plenty of pizza and beer and friends to hang with to wrap up my Sunday afternoon!

In between the sweat sessions, there will be plenty of napping, puppy cuddling and hanging out with the hubs. Can’t think of a better way to spend two work-free days!

AND now, it is 4 p.m. on Friday…so LET THE WEEKEND BEGIN!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, Greenville, life, Races, running, training, triathlon, weekend fun. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend Training Plans

  1. Sounds like a perfect weekend! Enjoy 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    I love how a good sweat can undo a crappy week! I am linking up with a new running buddy tomorrow for a long run, too, (assuming I wake up feeling better)… enjoy your long run!

  3. awesomesauce!!! I love weekends of training they are fun! I haven’t been traveling as much for work, but holy balls I’ve been working

    • Corey says:

      Ugh…work is definitely rough for me right now. After next month I don’t think I will be traveling much, but I am not sure if that will help! Sounds like you had an amazing long run yesterday!!

  4. Pingback: Workout Log: May 7 – 20 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  5. Pingback: Three W’s | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

