Workout Log: May 7 – 20

It wasn’t really planned, but the first week was kind of a cut-back week after a couple of high volume weeks. I was in IL for work (again!) so I was out of my routine a little. At least I was able to squeeze in something everyday I was there, even if it wasn’t near the volume I have been logging. The second week was great though! Solid week of rides and (finally) a double digit run!

May 7 – 13

  • Monday – RPM Spin Class – 50 minutes (19 miles)
  • Tuesday – 6 miles Speed Work 6×800 @ 6:32 min/mile pace w/90 sec Rest Intervals – Alisen sent me the speed workout that the rest of the group would be doing so I could do it on my own. I was super proud because this is the fastest I have attempted 800’s ever! (my old pace target was 6:46 min/mile) Repeats: 3:15, 3:16, 3:15, 3:15, 3:14, 3:14
  • Wednesday – 5:30 a.m. Body Attack
  • Thursday – 7 miles easy before work (8:51 min/mile) – I was sleepy and bored for the first couple of miles, but eventually got on a nice quiet (new to me) road and I just wanted to run forever and not have to turn around. It was really nice to run at an easy pace without pushing myself at all.
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. spin 60 min. elliptical – I set the alarm to get up for spin, but somehow didn’t turn it on. I was still able to get an hour in on the elliptical before my flight, but I know spin would have been a much better workout!
  • Saturday – 9ish mile run w/5k in middle – 7:57 min/mile avg.
  • Sunday – OFF
Totals:
  • Run = 22 miles
  • Swim = 0 yds. 😦
  • Bike = 19 miles
  • Time: 5 hrs. 50 min.

May 14 – 20

  • Monday – Speed Work w/Upstate Tri Club – 6.5 miles: 20×200 m w/100 m RI – Alisen had me do the 200’s in 50 seconds, which is essentially just a little faster than 5k pace. There were a lot of them, but the pace was pretty relaxed so they weren’t bad at all!
  • Tuesday – a.m. ride w/the girls – 26 miles (16.5 mph). We had intentions of doing a brick but ended up taking a longer bike route so I didn’t have time to run after. It was a good ride, after I figured out that my brake was rubbing for the FIRST 4 MILES! I couldn’t keep up no matter how hard I was riding and finally figured out why when I heard my brake rubbing!
  • Wednesday – a.m. run 5.3 miles w/Char (8:33 min/mile) + p.m. Master’s Swim 2900 yds
  • Thursday – a.m. ride w/the girls – 17.3 miles (15.4 mph)
  • Friday – 5:30 a.m. Master’s Swim OFF. Can’t seem to drag myself out of bed on Friday mornings or motivate myself in the afternoon.
  • Saturday – 11 mile run (8:27 min/mile) + stretching, foam rolling, sticking – my new running buddy had car trouble so I was solo on the run. It actually worked out really well because I felt great and paces were faster than planned, with 2 strong final miles! I LOVED being back out there for a “long” run again.
  • Sunday – foam rolling and sticking + 35 mile Every Woman community ride (17.2 mph): road with the “B” group as planned. It was a nice, relaxed pace for most of the ride. I had some tightness from Saturday so this was fine, but if I wanted to challenge myself a little more, I would probably ride with the “A” group next time. Great ride overall!
Totals:
  • Run = 22.8 miles
  • Swim = 2900 yds.
  • Bike = 78 miles
  • Time = 8 hours 50 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Races, running, swimming, training, weekend fun, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

