You Did What?!

Yep, that’s right. I went to YOGA.

(sorry for the overly dramatic title, but this is groundbreaking around here)

After Saturday’s 11 mile run, things in my body were WAY tighter than they should have been. My calves have been tight for a while, causing some PF (arch & heel pain), but after Saturday, my piriformis was all knotted up and my hips were stiff.

I sticked until my right calf was bruised, foam rolled, stretched and even had a PT friend dig into my piriformis yesterday. Yet, yesterday evening, my body still felt like it needed more.

I was online looking up Master’s swimming times for this morning when I saw that the Y has a Sunrise Yoga class at 6 a.m. on Monday mornings. Boom! Perfect. Exactly what I feel like my body needs right now.

This is the first time I have ever taken an actual yoga class. I just never wanted to “waste” an hour that I could spend getting sweaty with some sort of heart-pumping exercise with yoga. Of course, I have known all along that it is extremely important to build core strength and to stretch and lengthen my muscles and that in NO WAY would yoga be a waste of an hour. Yet, I still never took the time.

But last night when I set my alarm and laid clothes out, I was committed and I am SO glad I went. We breathed, we down-dogged, we planked, we did some poses and stretched our bodies out. And it was fantastic! I even got a little sweaty!

I learned that my hip flexors are extremely tight (especially the right one) and that I have zero to no balance or flexibility. I also learned that I am going to have to go more often or I will spend most of my time peaking at what the instructor is doing instead of closing my eyes and relaxing.

I felt great after and was ready start my day and tackle some speed work this afternoon!

Sleepy post-yoga “glow”? (I think the lights are the only thing glowing). That blob of black and yellow on the couch behind me is Walter’s big head with a tennis ball begging to play.ย 

Namaste, my friends!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in injuries, running, training, walter. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to You Did What?!

  1. I really want to add some kind of regular yoga to my schedule and feel I could benefit from itโ€ฆbut I never really stick with it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Meredith says:

    Good for you. I will do yoga at home occasionally, but after losing my money to two unused yoga classes I have vowed to never kid myself again by signing up for one.
    Starting masters next week…what do you think…should I join the regular swimming practice or the one geared toward triathletes…I guess my thinking right now is that maybe the regular swimmers will be faster, increasing my times..what do you think?

    • Corey says:

      That is a really good question! Our Master’s just throws everyone in together so I haven’t that choice. I wonder how the workouts are different? I am with you though, I lean toward thinking the swimmers will be faster than the triathletes since most triathletes (at least around here) are swimmers by necessity and don’t really have a background in it. But if the workouts are geared more toward triathlon (longer repeats), maybe you would want to join them once a week? Let me know how it goes! I love feeling like I am back on a swim team again at Master’s practices!

  3. Terzah says:

    I’ve always neglected this kind of thing, too, but no more! I think when I’m allowed that Pilates will be my plan–I love yoga, too, but it’s so hard to fit everything in! I need something that will do strength and flexibility all at once.

    • Corey says:

      I may have to venture out and check out pilates as well. I have never tried it and don’t know much about it, but I do like the idea of adding strength in addition to the flexibility.

  4. Laura says:

    Like you, I’ve always preferred sweaty cardio if i were going to do something for an entire hour! But I love the benefits of yoga, and am trying to stick with it on some level (about once every other week right now!)

    • Corey says:

      My goal is definitely to try to add it in once a week, especially after I had such a good experience this morning. But I know this will require a real commitment on my part!

  5. Christina says:

    Hey, glad to read this. I have been eyeballing Yoga at the Y too! I’m also eyeballing swimming, kettlebells, weights … ha ha our Y has so much going on I feel I should try all of it ๐Ÿ˜‰ But seriously, I’m sure we ALL should be doing yoga along with running. Just incorporating more flexibility into other areas of our bodies should be so beneficial. I may have to try too!

    • Corey says:

      I noticed that my Y has kettleball classes too! I think I need to check those out. There is just so much and not enough time!! (or energy)

  6. WIsh I could have conned you in to the 30 day challenge to see how you would feel ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love the shower pill as well BTW

  7. mollyberries says:

    Yoga is such a challenge for me, I am so terribly inflexible, and I would totally rather spend that hour doing something in the category of cardiovascular exercise, but in the end it has really paid off for me. I can still barely touch my toes, but I feel SO very great after a solid yoga class. Maybe we can get in some downward dogs between HTC legs? ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Pingback: Three W’s | Schnoodles of Fun!

  9. Pingback: Workout Log: May 21 – June 3 | Schnoodles of Fun!

Tell me what you think!

