70.3 – Let’s Do it (again)!

If you would have asked me in January, if I would be racing another 70.3 this year, my answer would have been a definite NO! But the second my favorite training buddies started talking about Beach 2 Battleship a couple of months ago, I knew I would be racing. There is no way I could turn down the opportunity to train and race with friends while also getting another crack at my favorite distance ever!

And now I have finally taken the plunge and hit the registration button!

 

So on October 20th, you will find me swimming, biking and running 70.3 miles in Wilmington, NC and I couldn’t be more excited!

I am taking a little bit of a different approach to training this time around, with much more run focus than before (yay! love running!) but I will talk a lot more about my training plans   in the next week or so.

In the meantime, you will find me with my nose buried in a calendar and excel spreadsheet trying to figure out how I am going to balance it all over the next couple of months!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, Races, running, swimming, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 70.3 – Let’s Do it (again)!

  1. Holly says:

    Congratulations!!!! And yay for excel spreadsheets…I love pulling out the sharpies too! 🙂 Training & racing with friends is the BEST…looking forward following your journey to 70.3!

  2. Terzah says:

    Good luck, Corey! The race will be a fun challenge–the balancing it all a DIFFERENT challenge. :^)

    • Corey says:

      SO true. Especially when it comes to the travel I have coming up this summer…both for fun and for work. Running is so, so much easier to manage on the road!

  3. Christina says:

    Oh my, how exciting! I will enjoy following as this unfolds! It’s interesting how many people I am seeing actually cranking up their goals as the weather gets hotter. Must be the happy sun vibes 🙂

  4. rchackman says:

    Awesome ! I’ve heard good things about that race

    • Corey says:

      So have I. The interesting thing is that there is a 140.6 race at the same time and on the same course as the 70.3. Never seen that before!

      • rchackman says:

        HITS triathlon series has been racing the iron and half-iron athletes on the same course. I did the iron at HITS Naples and it was not a problem but that race had far fewer people racing than B2B.

      • Corey says:

        The one thing I do like is that the transitions are organized like a full-iron which means we don’t have to rack our own bikes, etc. I think there are about 1900 at B2B including full and half. Was Naples alot smaller than that?

      • rchackman says:

        Waaaaaaay smaller! It was only HITS second race. I think there were close to 100 people total for the half and full.

  5. Laura says:

    SO exciting! I love how that race bug always comes back around to bite us… 🙂 Looking forward to hearing more about your training plans, and following your 70.3 journey!

  6. YEA! You did end up signing up. I’m still considering it, but realistically 70.3 is a long shot for me this year given the amount of time I was out. We’ll see though, I’ve been know to cave to peer pressure on more than one occasion and we do have friends who live there so free place to stay. Congrats on the big plunge of registration!! Can’t wait to hear more about your training plans.

    • Corey says:

      Um, seriously….this would be one that you would consider?!?! That would be SO AWESOME!! Not to put the pressure on, but it IS still almost 5 months away 🙂

  7. Pingback: Another Race? | Schnoodles of Fun!

  8. wohooo congrats. I know you’ll have a ton of fun training..though seriously when do you train since you race every weekend now 😉

    • Corey says:

      haha…seriously! I am going to take a very “flexible” approach to training this time around 🙂 But unfortunately the races are going to have to become fewer in a month or so when I ramp up training.

  9. Pingback: Whirlwind | Schnoodles of Fun!

  10. Pingback: Lake Logan Goals |

Tell me what you think!

