Workout Log: May 21 – June 3

I LOVED having two straight weeks with no travel! These are by far the best two weeks of workouts I have had since 70.3 training last year. Fitting in yoga into a regular routine makes them even better. The last few weeks were definitely heavy on biking and light on running, but with two weeks coming where I will be out of town and not have access to my bike, I think it worked out pretty well.

May 21 – 27

  • Monday – 1 hr. Sunrise Yoga + Upstate Tri Club Speed Workout – 5.5 miles: 2 mile w/u, 3×1000 @ 6:32 min/mile pace (4:01, 4:00, 4:03) w/400m RI, 1 mile c/d
  • Tuesday – Rainy ride at Donaldson after work – 31 miles (17.1 mph)
  • Wednesday – Easy 6 miles After Tuesday evening’s ride, my legs were trashed so I skipped the run to let them rest a little + Master’s Swim after work: 2600 yds. w/ton of kicking drills
  • Thursday – Early morning brick w/the girls: 1:05 ride (17 miles, 16.3 mph)+ 15 min run (1.75 miles)
  • Friday – 1.75 mile run + 45 min. Yoga
  • Saturday – 4.25 mile run (8:39 min/mile) + 9 a.m. Master’s swim (2400 yds) + Krazy Kow 5k (9 miles on the day)
  • Sunday – 31 mile relaxed ride from Donaldson (16.0 mph)
Totals:
  • Run = 19 miles
  • Swim = 5000 yds
  • Bike = 79 miles
  • Time: 11 hours 15 min. (including 2 hrs. yoga)

May 28 – June 3

  • Monday – Master’s Swim (3800 yds.) + 23 miles while spectating US Cycling Championships
  • Tuesday – Morning bike ride w/ the girls 18.6 miles (15.2 mph)
  • Wednesday – 5.75 mile morning run with Char (8:19 min/mile) + p.m. Master’s Swim Swim Fail! For the second time this week, they had to shock the pool RIGHT when we were supposed to start swimming. Monday I waited 35 minutes, this time, I just skipped it and went home!
  • Thursday – Morning brick w/the girls: 15 miles (15.6 mph) + 1.8 mile run (8:50 min/mile)
  • Friday – 6:00 a.m. Sunrise Yoga
  • Saturday – Tygerville Sprint Triathlon
  • Sunday – Easy 7.25 mile run (8:32 min/mile)
Totals:
  • Run = 17.9 miles
  • Swim = 4600 yds.
  • Bike = 70 miles
  • Time = 8 hours 50 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, Races, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workout Log: May 21 – June 3

  1. Laura says:

    Nice job getting the yoga in! And I’m really contemplating the tri here the end of June (Holly sent me a super helpful email)… just nervous about the swim, and I’d have to borrow a bike as mine is a mountain bike. 🙂 Decisions…!

    • Corey says:

      That’s awesome! I actually did my first 2 tri’s on my mountain bike. If it is a flat course, you will find that it might not be so bad. I switched out my mountain bike tires for some slicks which helped alot, but if it is a short race, you will probably see a little of everything with bikes. Is it open water? Or pool swim?

Tell me what you think!

