Middle Tyger YMCA Sprint Triathlon

Another race, another flight out the day after! I am back in Peoria, IL for my 4th and final week of training for work. My graduation is Friday and I will be running far, far away from sitting in an auditorium for hours on-end for a while!

Saturday’s race was a ton of fun, but {spoiler alert} I definitely fell short of all of my goals.

Sorry for the lack of pictures, but there are none available yet and I am not sure when they will be available…

Race Eve

Friday night was a low key evening, full of Mellow Mushroom pizza, College World Series softball and hanging out with Brad and the pups. Call me old, but this is seriously my ideal way to spend a Friday night.

Race Morning

Thanks to a 20-minute drive to the race site, I was able to sleep until 5:10 (yes, I know, oooh so late!), and still get ready, out the door and parked at the race by 6:00. Check-in, body marking and transition set-up were quick and easy and it was fun to see the friendly faces of training buddies. It was an unseasonable chilly morning (around 58*) so there was a lot of chatter about what to wear on the bike, etc. I had plenty of time after getting set-up to get a 400 m warm-up, with 100 m of hard swim and soon after we were lined up according to our start times and ready to go.

Swim  

I was #4 to start the swim and it was quickly my turn to go. We were supposed to walk across the timing mat, jump in feet first then swim. For some reason, as I walked across the timing mat, my instinct was to dive head first, but I remembered at the last second that I wasn’t allowed to dive so I kind of belly flopped in the pool and pushed off of the bottom, instead of getting a nice good push off the wall. (With the entire 100+ people behind me watching!)

The swim was in a long course 50 m pool, which is new to me and it sure felt long! When I got out of the pool, I looked at my watch and it said 6:20…I was confused, expecting to see something around 5:20. I entered 5:20 for my predicted time, but didn’t get passed. If I was a minute slow, I should have been passed right?!

I am still a bit baffled by this. I typically swim about 1:20-1:25/100m in a race in a pool and my time was almost 15 seconds per 100m slower than that. With my swim background, I am embarrassed to admit that I had no idea that a long course pool would cause a difference in time. Someone pointed out to me that since you start in the first lane of the pool and finish in the last lane, that you actually swim an extra 25 m, but this has been the case at all of my other (short course) tri’s too, so my times should have been about the same.

I am certainly not making excuses as to why my time was slower than expected. Maybe I just swam a slower than usual, but nothing really felt different and I still had the 4th fastest swim time overall (fastest awas 5:56, and just happens to be the doc that originally fixed my shoulder), but it just seems odd. I am taking uncensored feedback as to what happened…tell me if I was just overly optimistic about my time?!

400 m: 6:41 (including time from pool out to transition); 1st female, 4th overall

T1 – 1:00 (a little slower than I wanted, what was I doing for 20 extra seconds?!)

Bike

The first couple of miles of the bike were relatively flat before I hit a long downhill that I noted was going to be a b*&%$ to climb on the way back. Not long after the descent, I came up the first decent uphill. I shifted to my lowest rear gear and realized that I still needed to go lower, so without thinking, I dropped from my big to small ring…AND DROPPED MY CHAIN. I tried to get it back on by shifting first, then realized I needed to do it manually, so I unclipped, got off and pulled the chain back on to the small ring. I also tried to wipe a majority of the grease off my hands on my (black) shorts before getting back on. Finally I clipped back in and and proceeded to climb again.

I have no idea how much time I lost. I am going to guess about 30-45 seconds? 1 minute?

The only thing I remember for the rest of the first half of the ride was that my heart rate was SKY HIGH. Usually I can get it down after the swim, but because the course was so hilly, I was constantly out of aero and a few times even out of the saddle to climb.

Finally I hit the 7 mile turnaround and noted the time on my Garmin so I could see how far behind me the others were. It wasn’t 45 seconds past the turn, that I saw Char. Holy $#*&! She was smoking the bike! She started about 3+ minutes behind me in the swim and had already made up 1:30 plus any time that I had beat her on the swim (which turns out was a whole minute!)

It was fun seeing all my friends on the way back in and everyone cheering for each other. I tried to pick up the pace on the way back, but I don’t think I gained back any time that I had already lost to Char.

14 miles: 42:22 (19.8 mph); 2nd female, 17th overall

T2 – 41 seconds (13 seconds slower than last race…again – doing what?!)

Run

I actually felt pretty strong the entire run. It was hilly, but I felt like I was pushing a decent pace up the hills. The miles were marked, so I knew that I was slower than my goal, but I was pushing and my legs felt strong up the hills, which is not usually the case.

At the first turnaround point, I saw that I was still about 1:30 ahead of Char and then had put a little more time between us by the second turnaround point. I knew it wasn’t enough to win, but I was happy that I was able to push hard on the 2nd half of the run.

3.1 miles: 22:41 (7:18 min/mile); 2nd female, 10th overall

Overall Time: 1:13:24; 2nd female, Tied for 10th overall (yes that is right, I TIED to the exact second, Char’s husband Jesse – crazy huh?!)

Char & I with our prizes after the race

So, as I mentioned, I was short on all of my goals, but I am honestly not super disappointed. It just gives me another baseline for future races and gives me incentive to continue to work hard, especially on the bike where I feel the weakest of the three.

P.S. Char beat me by almost exactly 2 minutes. She rode 21.7 mph (38:37 min) on the bike!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, Greenville, Race reports, Races, running, swimming, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Middle Tyger YMCA Sprint Triathlon

  1. elizabeth says:

    i know it wasn’t the race you wanted, but congrats on another one! and your placing!

    • Corey says:

      Thank you!! Its the best thing about small races 🙂 But I definitely will get a reality check soon to see how “middle of the pack” I am in a bigger race!

  2. Laura says:

    That swim start sounds like something I would do. 🙂 And then the chain thing, yikes! I’m not sure you’re selling me on tris in this recap…! Seriously great job, Corey. You were not short of your goals by much at all, and 2nd woman? That’s fantastic!!

  3. Jocelyn says:

    You need to teach me how to swim!!!!!!!!!! Can you do this over Skype? Or just when we are HTC we can do lessons at the beach. NBD

    • Corey says:

      We can totally do this over skype. Now, about those waterproof computers…
      Seriously though, it would be awesome to swim at the beach while we are out there!! Assuming we wouldn’t turn purple because the water is so cold?!

  4. Pingback: 2012 Half-Way Goal Check |

  5. Pingback: Lake Logan International Triathlon |

Tell me what you think!

