Whirlwind

Well hello from crazy-ville! I think it has almost a week since I last posted because things have been super busy around here.

As I mentioned last week, I was in IL for the 4th and final week of a 4 week training class for work. And I graduated! I am now running far away from week long death-by-powerpoint training sessions for a while!

Immediately after graduation, I hit the road for a nearly 5 hour drive down to Lake of the Ozarks in Missouri. Brad’s family has a house there and we all met down there for the weekend.

It was a great weekend, but only as relaxing as it can be with 8 adults, 5 kids (ages 6 to 3 months) and 3 dogs (not mine, unfortunately)!

Boat Ride!

The weather was perfect with lows in the 60’s and high’s in the 80’s and I took advantage of the cool morning and got a great long run Saturday. I ran 11 HILLY miles with an 8:24 min/mile average. I felt great on the run, but my right hip was a little sore after so I came up with a make-shift foam roller to give the ITB a little love.

I also took advantage of being on the lake to get an open water swim in on Sunday morning. Brad was sweet enough to be my kayak support and wear the Garmin for a mile swim around the big cove adjacent to ours.

We also did some go-karting…

Unfortunately J-Man and I got smoked by the M&M’s car. Here you can see the pass taking place and me getting a lecture about my speedy driving skills (or lack thereof).

We also did some damage at the outlets on a rainy Monday and I managed to get some work done and squeeze in a few conference calls.

After Monday’s no-sweat + eat-way-too-much fest, I got a killer hill workout done yesterday morning! I did 10 x 1 min on a big hill, with a jog down the hill for recovery, followed by 5 x 30 sec on the bottom half of the same hill. I have been trying to keep up with the same workouts that Coach Alisen is giving at the track and that is what was on tap this week.  It was one of the most leg-burning, out-of-breath workouts I have had in a LONG time and I LOVED it!

We drove back from the lake yesterday and spent last night helping Brad’s sister and brother-in-law get moved out of their house and into his parents’ house until their brand new home is finished with a complete re-build. Moving is hard work and absolutely exhausting, and we only helped for about 3 hours!

We have plans to celebrate birthdays this afternoon before heading up to Chicago tomorrow for a long weekend full of meetings for the family business. Brad’s birthday is tomorrow (Flag Day!) and his Dad’s is Saturday. I have Brad completely convinced that I got him absolutely nothing for his birthday, so I am excited to give him his gift 🙂

It doesn’t end there! Unfortunately, Sunday when we leave Chicago, Brad and I are going opposite directions. He heads down to Texas to go fishing with my dad for a week while I head back to Peoria then finally to Greenville Monday morning. We get to spend a WHOLE day together when he gets back the following Saturday before I head off to a last minute trip to Germany for the following week! Life isn’t slowing down a bit…

Whew! Is anyone else as tired as I am?!

Side note: Tri training is tough in weeks like these, but I can at least PLAN to train! I am just finalizing my training plans for B2B and will share them soon! 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in family, life, Nieces and Nephews, running, swimming, the lake, training, weekend fun, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Whirlwind

  1. Caroline says:

    I am tired just reading all your traveling plans….! Germany! how fun! I’d love a “last minute” trip there! I have been there once, after I graduated from College..went to Europe to see my family. I am going on a trip back home next week and I am already stressing about the travelling part with the kids!! I always worry about disturbing OTHER people on the plane even if they have been really good travelers so far. happy birthday to Brad!

    • Corey says:

      I am sure it is super stressful traveling with the kids. The good news is that I think most people understand that you are doing your best! Although I am sure some are rude, regardless. Last minute trip because it is for work…and I will literally be there for less than 72 hours! Plenty of time to run in one of my favorite places ever though!!

  2. Jocelyn says:

    Very jealous!! Looks like you had a lot of fun. LET US KNOW WHAT THE GIFT IS!!

  3. Laura says:

    You are always on the go! I’m amazed that you still get so many quality workouts in, you’re inspiring! Funny that you mentioned the hill workout, I was just thinking of doing one next week, simply because it’s SO flat here and I’m afraid I’m losing all of my hill climbing abilities. That’s an impressive pace for your long run, too- nice work!

    • Corey says:

      Awe thanks for the sweet comment, Laura.This is pretty much the way things have always been with Brad and I. I guess you sort of get used to it and make it work. But it definitely isn’t always easy, especially when not everyone understands your need (want?) to get a run/workout in almost every day, vacation or otherwise. I just try to do my best to not let it interfere with anyone else’s schedules…

  4. chasingthekenyans says:

    you do a lot of work traveling! sometimes i wish i got to travel more for work, but i know “the grass isn’t always greener” (but racking up hotel points/air miles is pretty nice!). interested to see what you got brad! i love buying gifts for people – and then i am usually too excited to give it to them that i can’t wait.

    • Corey says:

      I have to say that I do like racking up airline miles! I will never complain when I get upgraded because I fly so much 🙂 I got Brad two new sport coats. Kind of a boring, practical give but he was really excited. He needed them for last weekend’s evening events and I got an awesome deal at Joseph A. Banks!

  5. XLMIC says:

    That is a ton of stuff you have going on! Whoa!

    I would love to try out that go-karting with my kids. They would have a blast, I’m sure 🙂

    • Corey says:

      The go-karting was so much fun! At the lake there are places on every corner, it seems like, so it was fun to take the nieces and nephews to a few of them. They loved it! And I won’t lie the adults had a blast too 🙂

  6. Pingback: Workout Log: June 4 – June 17 | Schnoodles of Fun!

  7. Oh you were almost in my neck of the woods – except that I’m in Michigan right now 🙂 Looks like a fun time and way to go with the hilly run!

    • Corey says:

      Have you been up to the Ozarks before? We were in the Missouri part, but I know part of it goes all the way into Arkansas. Hope you are having a great trip!!!

Tell me what you think!

